Skip to main content

Minecon Live 2020 is now called Minecraft Live, and it's happening in October

minecraft soul campfire torch speed
(Image credit: Mojang)
Audio player loading…

The date for Minecon Live 2020 has been confirmed, though it's under a different name now: it's now called Minecraft Live. The livestream will take place on October 3 at 12pm EST (9am PT / 5pm BST / 2am, October 4 AEST) on the Minecraft website, and a new blogpost (opens in new tab) from Mojang gives some fairly thin hints regarding what we should expect.

What we should expect, it looks like, is "answers to pertinent questions about what the rest of Mojang Studios have been working on all year." Whether that implies future updates for Minecraft, Minecraft Dungeons, Minecraft Earth or some other unannounced project is yet to be seen. I told you it was thin, though it looks like mob votes will return. 

Meanwhile, the anticipated 2020 real world convention, Minecraft Festival, is much further off than we expected. Originally scheduled for this month before it was delayed (opens in new tab) due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the festival is now scheduled for 2022. Mojang also announced it will no longer be involved with official community events.

Check out the trailer below:

Shaun Prescott is the Australian editor of PC Gamer. With over ten years experience covering the games industry, his work has appeared on GamesRadar+, TechRadar, The Guardian, PLAY Magazine, the Sydney Morning Herald, and more. Specific interests include indie games, obscure Metroidvanias, speedrunning, experimental games and FPSs. He thinks Lulu by Metallica and Lou Reed is an all-time classic that will receive its due critical reappraisal one day.