Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 11-30-2010, 02:49 PM
    Frugalmd Frugalmd is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Posts: 1
    Default Motherboard Swap

    Several years ago, PC Gamer had an article in it that detailed 2 programs to run on your hard drive/windows installation before shutting down and taking your system apart. These programs erased the system information from the windows install so that it would be possible to simply move your existing hard drive to a new motherboard and processor without having to buy an new operating system for the computer. I had stored away a copy of the magazine, but recently moved and have lost it. Does anyone recall the article or know which commands to give to windows? Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks in Advance
    Frugalmd
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 11-30-2010, 03:59 PM
    rizla rizla is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Warrington, UK (originally wales)
    Posts: 512
    Default

    im wishing to know this too for the very same reason ^^ BUMPY BUMP
    __________________

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by GarrySmith View Post
    I like game.

    [Xenex P170EM][17.3" HD LED 1920x1080p]
    [
    Intel i7-3630QM][Nvidia GTX680m 4GB]
    [
    1TB SATA II 8MB Cache][8GB K. Hyp.-x-genesis DDR3]
    --Hooked Up To--
    [
    24" iiyama E2472HD][Toshiba 46" 3D LED TV]
    Steam | J3ffy

    "You Fight Like A Dairy Farmer"
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 12-04-2010, 06:54 PM
    BetaWolf47 BetaWolf47 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 1,426
    Default

    This thread has me confused. Don't you just have to uninstall your chipset drivers, turn off your PC, swap out the motherboard, reconnect everything, then install the new chipset drivers? Your OS is installed on your hard drive, so the only new software you should need is drivers. Or, perhaps I'm mistaken?
    __________________

    Intel Core i5 4670K ♠ Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2GB
    MSi Z87 Mpower Max ♠ 1x8GB A-DATA DDR3 1600 ♠ 1TB Samsung Spinpoint
    Nuforce Icon HDP Amp/DAC ♠ AKG K702 Headphones
    Seasonic SS-660XP2 ♠ SilverStone Temjin TJ04-E ♠ ASUS MX239H


    Add me on Steam

    Origin: BetaWolf7
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 12-04-2010, 07:12 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    You can run Windows after installing a new motherboard but it increases the chance that itll run really buggy with compatibility issues all over the place. Ive never swapped a motherboard on an OS but everything Ive read says that you gotta re-install the OS.

    Id love to be wrong. I cringe at the idea that Im gonna have to re-install my OS and all my games when the new Bulldozer line comes out.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 12-05-2010, 04:06 PM
    Keydet96 Keydet96 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: VA
    Posts: 743
    Default

    As long as you don't install Windows on multiple separate computers you don't have to buy another copy (or license). That said, it's always best to do a clean install after a major upgrade.
    __________________
    My Sig (Sauer P250C)
    Quote:
    It's not the end of the world. But you can see it from here.
    Gigabyte GA-X58-USB3 ♦ i7-920 ♦ 6GB DDR3 1333 RAM ♦ Radeon 5850 ♦ WD Caviar 1TB hdd ♦ LG Blu-Ray/DVD +/- RW with LightScribe ♦ Corsair TX750W ♦ Acer X233HZ (1920x1080) ♦ AeroCool BX-500 case ♦ Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit) ♦ Saitek Eclipse II ♦ M$ Sidewinder X5
    Steam profile
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 12-05-2010, 04:36 PM
    BetaWolf47 BetaWolf47 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 1,426
    Default

    Well, that said, if you have any digital copies of games, back them up to an external HDD or something. Steam has an easy to use function for that. Use Gamesave Manager to back up all of your game saves. Back up all of your music, videos, and any other downloaded stuff.
    __________________

    Intel Core i5 4670K ♠ Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2GB
    MSi Z87 Mpower Max ♠ 1x8GB A-DATA DDR3 1600 ♠ 1TB Samsung Spinpoint
    Nuforce Icon HDP Amp/DAC ♠ AKG K702 Headphones
    Seasonic SS-660XP2 ♠ SilverStone Temjin TJ04-E ♠ ASUS MX239H


    Add me on Steam

    Origin: BetaWolf7
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 12-05-2010, 06:50 PM
    jgame jgame is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2010
    Location: Chico, Ca. I party so what
    Posts: 39
    Default

    Is this for OEM or Retail Windows.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump