Speedrunning marathon Summer Games Done Quick 2019 starts today

Audio player loading…

Charity speedrunning extravaganza Summer Games Done Quick is upon us once again: for the next week, you'll be able to tune in on Twitch (opens in new tab) at any time of the day or night to watch some of the best runners take on the likes of Portal 2, Borderlands 2, Half-Life and Prey.

The pre-show stream starts today at 9:30am PT / 12:30pm ET / 5:30pm BST, and the first run—Spyro Reignited Trilogy: Spyro the Dragon—begins half an hour later. Portal 2 is the second game due up today, and it'll be an inbounds run, which means it'll probably be less glitchy and easier to watch than many Portal 2 speedruns you've seen. Devil May Cry is another one to watch out for later today.

The event, which is raising money for charity Doctors Without Borders, wraps up next Saturday night with puwexil's speedrun of Chrono Trigger, expected to last a marathon six hours: make sure you've got snacks handy. You can view the full schedule here (opens in new tab).

If you can't tune in live for a given run, then you'll be able to catch it on the Games Done Quick YouTube channel (opens in new tab), which is usually pretty quick in uploading individual runs. The Twitch stream is here (opens in new tab)—I like sticking it on in the background when I'm doing some work, and often stumble across runs I never thought I'd enjoy.

If you want a taste of what's to come, check out the seven must-watch PC speedruns from last year's event (opens in new tab).

Samuel Horti is a long-time freelance writer for PC Gamer based in the UK, who loves RPGs and making long lists of games he'll never have time to play. He's now a full-time reporter covering health at the Bureau of Investigative Journalism. When he does have time for games you may find him on the floor, struggling under the weight of his Steam backlog.