Skip to main content

How to download Call of Duty: Warzone

download cod warzone release date time
(Image credit: Infinity Ward)
Get some more Call of Duty: Warzone guides

(Image credit: Infinity Ward)

Call of Duty: Warzone map: the best loot spots
Call of Duty: Warzone cash: make quick money
Call of Duty: Warzone Gulag: how to get back in the game
Call of Duty: Warzone settings: tackle fps dips

Call of Duty: Warzone is out in the wild, free to play for everyone. We like the game a lot and consider among the best battle royale games. It's great to see Modern Warfare's excellent gameplay given the battle royale treatment with so many clever ideas.

That early information included a sneak peek at the map, which we now know to be the colossally huge desert of Verdansk, with over 300 points of interest to learn and perish near. We also know that there are two different modes (Battle Royale and the more aggressive, loot-focused, Plunder), we'll play in trios, there'll be vehicles, and more.

But, most importantly, it's free. For everyone. That means, unlike 2018's Blackout mode for Call of Duty: Black Ops 4, even those who don't own the game can jump in for nothing. They'll just have to wait a little longer and shoulder that enormous CoD: Warzone download size. Anyway, here's how to download it, and the Warzone release times for your region.

CoD: Warzone download: how to get in on the action

If you already own the game, this'll be nice and simple. If you've kept your game up-to-date on Battle.net with the latest title patch, expect to trouble your C Drive with another 18-22GB of further data, but it can be as much as 80GB if you haven't. Remember that mysterious 'Classified' screen on the main menu? Once your download is complete, this'll be where you can make your first drop into Verdansk.

However, if you don't own the game, you have further steps to take, and an awful lot more game to download—83-101GB, to be more precise. You can either download Warzone directly or get it through Blizzard's Battle.net launcher, which you can find on their website. 

For a direct download, go to Blizzard's downloads page. You should see Call Of Duty: Warzone under "partner games." When you go through the installation process, it will install Blizzard's launcher for you, so you're not escaping that element. 

If you're already using the Battle.net launcher, you should be able to navigate to "Call Of Duty: MW" in the left sidebar. There's now a big "Play For Free" button on Modern Warfare's launcher page, which will begin your download. 

It's also worth noting that the Call of Duty: Warzone download is segmented, so your PC will download the first 20GB, first. Then you can face off in Gunfight against bots to get warmed up. Once the next segment is downloaded, you'll be ready to jump in.

(Image credit: Activision)

CoD: Warzone release times for each region

First things first, the CoD: Warzone release date is March 10, 2020. Current Modern Warfare owners got a few hours head start but now the game is free to download and play for everyone. You should be able to play now, no matter where you are, but here are Blizzard's posted unlock times for your reference. 

You can see the global launch rollout in the diagram above; just subtract four hours for your region if you have the game. So, here are the Call of Duty: Warzone release times for the US, Britain, and Europe for existing players:

  • PDT: 8am
  • EDT: 11am
  • GMT: 3pm
  • CET: 4pm

And here they are for everyone else:

  • PDT: 12pm
  • EDT: 3pm
  • GMT: 7pm
  • CET: 8pm

Harry tells you how you should play your PC games, despite being really rather terrible at them. Good luck finding out how he holds down his job, though: He steadfastly refuses to convey information unless it’s in clickable online form.