Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 12-06-2013, 01:01 AM
    Wraith_3 Wraith_3 is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2010
    Posts: 76
    Default GTX 780ti install question!

    I'm building a new PC and I'm pretty much done. I was installing a GTX 780ti SC and the manual it came with got me confused. On my current PC which had two GTX 285s in SLI I used an 8pin connector and another 6 pin like in my pic below, with a 2 pin attached (to make it 8 or 6, but only using 6 pin). The manual says that if you don't have a 6 pin connector to use the adapter they have, which looks to be only 5 pins since the top middle is missing. My question is does anyone know if I can just use the 6 pin on my PSU (Corsair HX850). In the pic, the EVGA adapter is on the right, PSU PCI-E connector on the right.

    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 12-06-2013, 01:15 AM
    Masterflaw Masterflaw is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 1,203
    Default

    I wouldn't try with it...who knows what else is wrong with the chord if it was manufactured that way...

    Whats wrong with the ones you had before? You should have at least 2 on your PSU, and using the 6+2 pins is fine.
    __________________
    CPU:AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.4(O.C.)||Cooler:Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU:Sapphire 7870 XT (Tahiti)+Sapphire 7950||Harddrive:500GB Hitachi 7200 RPM, 120 GB Plextor SSD
    Ram:2x4GB PNY @ 1600Mhz||PSU:OCZ 750w-ZT series||MoBo:Asus m5a97 le 2.0||O.S.:Windows 8.1 64
    Case:Thermaltake V3 Black Edition||Screen:40" LCD-RCA
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 12-06-2013, 02:31 AM
    Wraith_3 Wraith_3 is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2010
    Posts: 76
    Default

    Ok thanks. Yeah I looked online and found several installs using the PSU connector. It just sounded weird when the manual read like you had to use the adapter it came with. I've always used the PSU connector.
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 12-06-2013, 03:20 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    The Corsair HX850 has something like 6x 6+2 pin PCI-E's , it's perfectly fine to use a 6+2 pin as a 6 pin, so yeah, use the PSU cables.
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 12-07-2013, 01:22 AM
    Wraith_3 Wraith_3 is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2010
    Posts: 76
    Default

    Ok I have to hand in my geek/PC Gamer card now. I got all of it together and was ready to fire this thing up. I connected all the USB cables, monitor, Ethernet, etc. I grab the keyboard cord and hmm... no PS/2 plugin. The one friggin' thing I didn't think of derailed the entire operation. Well no problem I'm sure I have a PS/2 to USB adapter in the huge collection of PC accessories I have. Not a one. So tomorrow I'm going to get a new (not 7 year old) keyboard.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump