Skip to main content

Assassination party game Murderous Pursuits is holding an open beta this weekend

Audio player loading…

Ahead of its upcoming April 26 release, Murderous Pursuits, a game where you try to murder other players while disguising yourself as an NPC to avoid being murdered, will hold a final beta this weekend. The open beta begins on Friday, April 20 at 7 pm Pacific (10 pm Eastern) and runs through Sunday, April 22 at 9 pm Pacific (12 am Eastern). To join in the killing, just keep an eye on the game's Steam page.  (opens in new tab)

A spiritual successor to 2006's The Ship (opens in new tab), Murderous Pursuits is all about mind games and a very particular brand of stealth. When you aren't tightening your grip on a knife or itching your trigger finger, you hide by observing art exhibits, talking nonsense, and other things NPCs do. The steampunk Victorian airship where the game takes place is filled with hiding spots and tells, it's just a matter of finding them. Think Dishonored by way of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood—a shoo-in for people who love pretending to be NPCs, like our own Chris Livingston. (opens in new tab) 

Austin freelanced for PC Gamer, Eurogamer, IGN, Sports Illustrated, and more while finishing his journalism degree, and has been a full-time writer at PC Gamer's sister publication GamesRadar+ since 2019. They've yet to realize that his position as a staff writer is just a cover-up for his career-spanning Destiny column, and he's kept the ruse going with a focus on news, the occasional feature, and as much Genshin Impact as he can get away with.