Here's when Sons of the Forest releases in your time zone

Person holding severed head up to scare cannibals
(Image credit: Endnight Games)

Update: Sons of the Forest is out now on Steam. There was a short delay to the launch, which seemed to be caused by a problem with the game's Steam page or Steam itself. It took me several tries to purchase Sons of the Forest due to site errors and login timeouts, but I eventually managed to download it and start playing.


The long wait to play co-op survival game Sons of the Forest is nearly over, and soon you'll be able to set foot on a mysterious and dangerous island, either on your own or with up to eight players in co-op. You'll need to gather resources, find food and fresh water, craft weapons and gear, build a base, and defend it from the island's terrifying cannibals in this sequel to Endnight Games' The Forest.

If you're a survival fan you're probably eager to play, especially since the release of Sons of the Forest has already been delayed a few times. Here are the Sons of the Forest release times, broken down by region.

Sons of the Forest release times

Sons of the Forest is set to release into Steam Early Access on February 23, and will (update: or was supposed to, at least) unlock globally for players at 9 am PT. Here's how that translates to other time zones:

  • Los Angeles: 9 am PT
  • New York: 12 pm ET
  • London: 5 pm GMT
  • Paris: 6 pm CET
  • Sydney: 4 am AEDT (Friday)

Click here to add your own timezone if it isn't listed above.

There's no option on Steam to pre-load, or even pre-purchase Sons of the Forest, though the price is expected to be $30. The developers have said they expect the survival game to stay in early access for 6-8 months, though that may change based on player feedback.

If you're looking for more information on Sons of the Forest, a multiplayer trailer showing co-op building and horrible fleshy nightmare monsters was recently released. It's also become the most-wishlisted game on Steam, even over Starfield, so you should have plenty of company if you decide to play it tomorrow.

Image

<a href="https://www.pcgamer.com/sons-of-the-forest-cheats-console-commands/" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" target="_blank">Sons of the Forest cheats: Spawn more Kelvins
<a href="https://www.pcgamer.com/sons-of-the-forest-shovel-location/" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" target="_blank">Sons of the Forest shovel location: How to dig
<a href="https://www.pcgamer.com/sons-of-the-forest-keycard-locations/" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" target="_blank">Sons of the Forest keycard locations: Gain entry
<a href="https://www.pcgamer.com/sons-of-the-forest-rope-gun-zipline-location/" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" target="_blank">Sons of the Forest rope gun location: Ziplines online
<a href="https://www.pcgamer.com/sons-of-the-forest-rebreather-location/" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" data-link-merchant="pcgamer.com"" target="_blank">Sons of the Forest rebreather location: Dive deeper

Christopher Livingston
Senior Editor

Chris started playing PC games in the 1980s, started writing about them in the early 2000s, and (finally) started getting paid to write about them in the late 2000s. Following a few years as a regular freelancer, PC Gamer hired him in 2014, probably so he'd stop emailing them asking for more work. Chris has a love-hate relationship with survival games and an unhealthy fascination with the inner lives of NPCs. He's also a fan of offbeat simulation games, mods, and ignoring storylines in RPGs so he can make up his own.