GOG's Goodbuy 2016 Sale kicks off tomorrow

Audio player loading…

The big year-end Steam sale got underway today, as you may have heard, and tomorrow it's GOG's turn: The Goodbuy 2016 Sale (opens in new tab) will begin at noon CET/3 am PT on December 23, with ten of the year's biggest hits on sale alongside the usual array of old-time classics. 

Those ten good buys of 2016, chosen through "a particularly scientific process that may or may not have included copious amounts of eggnog and missing teeth," are: 

  • Inside
  • Owlboy
  • Stardew Valley
  • Grim Dawn
  • Darkest Dungeon
  • The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt
  • Day of the Tentacle Remastered
  • Obduction
  • Starbound
  • Shadow Tactics: Blades of the Shogun

Sale prices haven't been announced, but GOG teased discounts of up to 90 percent off "a selection of classics and modern gems," including Neverwinter Nights 2, Homeworld Remastered, Rebel Galaxy, Morrowind, Grim Fandango Remastered, and Fallout 1 and 2. It sounds like Star Wars will get some special attention as well, with bundles including Rogue Squadron 3D, Battlefront 2, Shadows of the Empire, Galactic Battlegrounds, Knights of the Old Republic, and more.

It certainly won't be as big a sale as what Steam has put on, but on the other hand it's nice to have a little heads-up like this, isn't it? GOG's Goodbuy 2016 will run until midnight CET/6 pm ET/3pm PT on December 28.

Andy has been gaming on PCs from the very beginning, starting as a youngster with text adventures and primitive action games on a cassette-based TRS80. From there he graduated to the glory days of Sierra Online adventures and Microprose sims, ran a local BBS, learned how to build PCs, and developed a longstanding love of RPGs, immersive sims, and shooters. He began writing videogame news in 2007 for The Escapist and somehow managed to avoid getting fired until 2014, when he joined the storied ranks of PC Gamer. He covers all aspects of the industry, from new game announcements and patch notes to legal disputes, Twitch beefs, esports, and Henry Cavill. Lots of Henry Cavill.