Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 05-13-2014, 09:00 PM
    Peppy_Pony Peppy_Pony is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2013
    Posts: 37
    Default Far Cry 3 slowdown on GTX 780

    Hi all,

    Just installed a new gtx 780 and was testing it out on a couple games. Crysis 2 runs fine maxed out but far cry 3 is quite jittery. This is with AA both on and off. the graphics card drivers are up to date and the game ran fine on my old 570 so I don't know what the problem is.
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 05-13-2014, 11:14 PM
    Masterflaw Masterflaw is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 1,203
    Default

    Check Vsync and if your using HDAO or SSAO (I believe these are the type they use...try SSAO)
    For what ever reason those two settings, with that game, screwed with my dual card set-up.
    __________________
    CPU:AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.4(O.C.)||Cooler:Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU:Sapphire 7870 XT (Tahiti)+Sapphire 7950||Harddrive:500GB Hitachi 7200 RPM, 120 GB Plextor SSD
    Ram:2x4GB PNY @ 1600Mhz||PSU:OCZ 750w-ZT series||MoBo:Asus m5a97 le 2.0||O.S.:Windows 8.1 64
    Case:Thermaltake V3 Black Edition||Screen:40" LCD-RCA
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 05-14-2014, 05:42 AM
    Peppy_Pony Peppy_Pony is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2013
    Posts: 37
    Default

    Thanks for the help but I have tried all 3 settings and nothing makes a difference. I have tried V sync on and off and have altered a few more settings too.

    The game runs very well but the movement and looking around is very jitterys / jumpy (if they are words!). Its very noticeable Watching cars and npcs move about too.
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 05-14-2014, 08:40 PM
    Masterflaw Masterflaw is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 1,203
    Default

    Do other games do it?
    __________________
    CPU:AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.4(O.C.)||Cooler:Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU:Sapphire 7870 XT (Tahiti)+Sapphire 7950||Harddrive:500GB Hitachi 7200 RPM, 120 GB Plextor SSD
    Ram:2x4GB PNY @ 1600Mhz||PSU:OCZ 750w-ZT series||MoBo:Asus m5a97 le 2.0||O.S.:Windows 8.1 64
    Case:Thermaltake V3 Black Edition||Screen:40" LCD-RCA
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 05-15-2014, 06:13 PM
    Peppy_Pony Peppy_Pony is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2013
    Posts: 37
    Default

    I've tried about 3 other games and they all run absolutely fine.
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 05-16-2014, 07:41 PM
    Masterflaw Masterflaw is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 1,203
    Default

    It's got to be that either Nvidia is slacking on there drivers or there is a setting in you Nvidea control panel on that shouldn't be.
    Check you Nvidea control panel to make sure all settings are or look normal...turn of Vsync or any form of anti-aliasing.
    __________________
    CPU:AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.4(O.C.)||Cooler:Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU:Sapphire 7870 XT (Tahiti)+Sapphire 7950||Harddrive:500GB Hitachi 7200 RPM, 120 GB Plextor SSD
    Ram:2x4GB PNY @ 1600Mhz||PSU:OCZ 750w-ZT series||MoBo:Asus m5a97 le 2.0||O.S.:Windows 8.1 64
    Case:Thermaltake V3 Black Edition||Screen:40" LCD-RCA
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 05-16-2014, 07:49 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,594
    Default

    when you say you installed a new GTX780 is it a second card or a single card?

    if it was a second card try disabling SLi and see if it makes any different.

    if it is just a new single card did you totally remove the old graphics drivers and reinstall? even going from Nvidia to Nvidia you should still do a full clean and reinstall of the driver as it can cause problems with the settings.
    __________________
    Are you sick of all the problems on this site? if so come to PCGC at pcgamesc.com we are in the process of making a gaming site for the community by the community.
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 05-16-2014, 08:54 PM
    Peppy_Pony Peppy_Pony is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2013
    Posts: 37
    Default

    It is a single card replacing a gtx 570. I have turned off various settings on the nvidia control panel and the original drivers were uninstalled first. Just to be sure i have just reinstalled the drivers which has made no difference.

    I have just tested it with arkham city and I am getting similar results to far cry. The game is on max settings but it is not running anywhere near as well as it should. during the benchmark test the game dropped as low as 17fps and after reinstalling the drivers it dropped as low as 22fps. during gameplay the game is quite choppy moving the camera around.

    My System specs are -

    Intel core i7-2600k 3.4 ghz
    16gb kingston hyper x 1600 ram
    evga gtx 780
    500gb harddrive
    corsair 750w power supply
    Windows 7
    Reply With Quote
      #9   Report Post  
    Old 05-16-2014, 09:16 PM
    Masterflaw Masterflaw is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 1,203
    Default

    I'd return it...
    There is the possibility of thermal throttling but even then, you should return it for a new one.
    __________________
    CPU:AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.4(O.C.)||Cooler:Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU:Sapphire 7870 XT (Tahiti)+Sapphire 7950||Harddrive:500GB Hitachi 7200 RPM, 120 GB Plextor SSD
    Ram:2x4GB PNY @ 1600Mhz||PSU:OCZ 750w-ZT series||MoBo:Asus m5a97 le 2.0||O.S.:Windows 8.1 64
    Case:Thermaltake V3 Black Edition||Screen:40" LCD-RCA
    Reply With Quote
      #10   Report Post  
    Old 05-17-2014, 01:00 PM
    Peppy_Pony Peppy_Pony is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2013
    Posts: 37
    Default

    Thanks for the advice guys. While searching online I saw a few posts from people complaining that Direct X 11 wasn't working properly with Arkham city so I decided to turn dx11 off and now everything is running fine. The game runs at an average of 56fps with a minimum of 38fps. Once I saw this I switched from dx11 to dx9 on farcry and now the game is running super fast.

    The issue now is why doesn't my 780 like Direct X 11?
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump