Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 06-16-2013, 06:57 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,605
    Default using a PC as a wifi range extender.

    so I have a bit of a dead spot on Wifi in my house, but I have a PC close by that is wired, but I want to use it to expand the wifi for mobile devices (it's actually my main PC so it's nearly always on) I was wondering how easy it is to do this using a PC and USB as with my graphics cards and sound card I have no spare room for another card.

    so I'm after something I can use to do this, ideally I want something with decent reception and support N rated (over 100meg, since the internet is 80meg and the laptops and phones/tablets connect to the router ast between 100meg and 170meg) and both 2.4ghz and 5ghz, I'd like to stay as cheap as possible (but not at the cost of quality) but I'd really rather not pay more than £50 (UK but will if it's really worth it) and the only other thing is I've always liked netgear products as they seem really solid but have no problem with other firms if they are good quality and do what I need.
    __________________
    Are you sick of all the problems on this site? if so come to PCGC at pcgamesc.com we are in the process of making a gaming site for the community by the community.
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 06-16-2013, 07:15 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,567
    Default

    I personally use [URL="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122388"]this powerline [/URL]that also doubles as an range extender.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 06-16-2013, 07:20 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,605
    Default

    the thing is I already have power lines in to this PC (the high speed ones since I run a switch on the opposite end to the router) as I needed to get ones with a pass through socket due to too many electrical devices, so really want to stick to something I can just hook into the PC as it generally gets turned on first thing on the morning and turned off late on a night, so will do the same job.
    __________________
    Are you sick of all the problems on this site? if so come to PCGC at pcgamesc.com we are in the process of making a gaming site for the community by the community.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump