Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Games

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 04:15 PM
    Marcdude182 Marcdude182 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Derby, England
    Posts: 26
    Default How do you play old games on your computer?

    Hey, i'm currently in the process of abandoning consoles and returning to using PC's for my gaming and i was wondering if there was any way to play old games that were released for earlier versions of Windows and Dos (Warcraft: Orcs and Humans, the first Baldurs Gate etc.)
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 04:18 PM
    SAeN SAeN is offline
    Grand Inquisitor
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Dundee
    Posts: 2,957
    Send a message via Skype™ to SAeN
    Default

    Usually the GOG versions are fixed to run on modern hardware.
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 04:21 PM
    Palodin Palodin is offline
    Banned
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 1,315
    Default

    Anything released after, say, 2000 should run fine. A lot of stuff from before that ought to work too though may require some patches or fixes. Earlier DOS based stuff can be run using DOSBOX.

    [url]http://pcgamingwiki.com[/url] is your friend
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 04:49 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,598
    Default

    the biggest problem I found with really old games (90's and before) is quite a lot were built to have heir speed limited purely by hardware so they can end up running way way too fast unless you can manage to get a frame limiter on them. (the best one for this was the original GTA, you tapped go in a car you either wiped out on a car or the wall at the other end of the map before you can even get your finger off the key, but R* released a free version with the fame limiter)
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 04:52 PM
    Captacha Captacha is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2012
    Posts: 113
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Belimawr View Post
    the biggest problem I found with really old games (90's and before) is quite a lot were built to have heir speed limited purely by hardware so they can end up running way way too fast unless you can manage to get a frame limiter on them. (the best one for this was the original GTA, you tapped go in a car you either wiped out on a car or the wall at the other end of the map before you can even get your finger off the key, but R* released a free version with the fame limiter)
    I know in DOSBox you can change the emulated CPU speed, so this theoretically shouldn't happen.
    __________________
    GTX 560 SE | Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHZ | BIOSTAR A880G+ | 4GB Kingston
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 05:06 PM
    Daniel Daniel is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Location: People's Repuplic of Treacle Mine Road
    Posts: 3,962
    Default

    Most old games I have run straight from inserting the CD. I think the only one to have problems was Cossacks that ran way to fast.
    __________________
    “There has seldom if ever been a shortage of eager young males prepared to kill and die to preserve the security, comfort and prejudices of their elders, and what you call heroism is just an expression of this simple fact; there is never a scarcity of idiots.” - Ian Banks
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 06:11 PM
    Marcdude182 Marcdude182 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Derby, England
    Posts: 26
    Default

    Thanks for the reply's, i asked cause i saw a few people moaning on the internet about Baldurs gate and i wasn't sure if it was a common problem for older games
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 06:15 PM
    Saluki Saluki is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 977
    Default

    Just buy an old Windows 98 laptop for a few bucks.

    Then everything will run the way it was meant to without any issues.
    Reply With Quote
      #9   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 06:37 PM
    Dylanger Dylanger is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Location: Essex.
    Posts: 466
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SAeN View Post
    Usually the GOG versions are fixed to run on modern hardware.
    Not entirely true. Yes they run on modern systems but sometimes they are the buggy versions. I found out the hard way with divine Divinity, my inventory kept going missing and I played detective. Turned out GOG had the buggy version and it was better to actually install the physical disc version and patch it up the old fashioned way. Same went for Sacrifice and Beyond Divinity it turned out..

    Cant honestly say if they ever got around to patching the GOG versions of these games correctly but it left a sour taste. I ended up just digging the old copies out of the cupboard and installing them.

    FTL was bloody brilliant though!

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Saluki View Post
    Windows 98
    Wait..
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Saluki View Post
    without any issues.
    Arf..
    Reply With Quote
      #10   Report Post  
    Old 11-21-2012, 09:21 PM
    jon_hill987 jon_hill987 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 3,873
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Dylanger View Post
    comment about windows98
    I assume he means Win98SE.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump