Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 05-05-2012, 06:54 AM
    jamesmullis13 jamesmullis13 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Posts: 2
    Default Questions Regarding My Set Up

    These are my system specifications, and I have several friends that have similar set ups, but mine always seems to come up short. I don't know enough to properly evaluate what's holding my system back from running games like WoW, Swtor, and Diablo III (beta) at max settings while keeping consistently good FPS. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks.

    Here are my specifications.
    OPERATING SYSTEM:
    Windows 2.6.0.6002 (Service Pack 2)
    CPU TYPE:
    AMD Phenom(tm) 9950 Quad-Core Processor
    CPU SPEED:
    2.62 GHz
    SYSTEM MEMORY:
    8 GB
    VIDEO CARD MODEL:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    VIDEO CARD MEMORY:
    3.97 GB
    VIDEO CARD DRIVER:
    nvd3dum.dll
    DESKTOP RESOLUTION:
    1216x676
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 05-05-2012, 06:57 AM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,567
    Default

    Are you on the newest nvidia drivers?
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 05-05-2012, 02:25 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    Is that your Monitors Max Resolution ? the low Rez means the GPU is sitting with it's feet up on a table churning out FPS while more strain is on the CPU trying to catch up.

    Crank the Rez higher if you can, see if that helps.
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 05-05-2012, 05:17 PM
    jamesmullis13 jamesmullis13 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Posts: 2
    Default Reply

    Windows Updater says my drivers are up to date, so I guess that's not it. Thanks, though. I'm using an HD television as my monitor, so I guess that is holding my computer back. Should I go for a monitor that displays at 1920x1080? I don't even know what the optimum resolution is for my television.

    Last edited by jamesmullis13; 05-05-2012 at 05:20 PM.
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 05-05-2012, 05:36 PM
    Klatu Klatu is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts: 1,052
    Default

    A new monitor would be good, check out this - [URL="http://www.pcgamer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5543p://"]htthttp://www.pcgamer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5543p://[/URL] for advice.

    Is your graphics card driver the most current version. ie Version 296.10 - WHQL.

    If in doubt go [URL="http:http://www.geforce.com/drivers//"]Here[/URL] and download the Auto detect software.
    __________________
    "...people who personify and love corporations to the point where they can actually feel betrayed by them - well, roll over and take it. You're in for a lifetime of abusive imaginary relationships."

    (Blyth Jon, September 2011, PCGamer UK, p90)


    Steam id: feersum
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 05-05-2012, 06:11 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jamesmullis13 View Post
    Windows Updater says my drivers are up to date, so I guess that's not it. Thanks, though. I'm using an HD television as my monitor, so I guess that is holding my computer back. Should I go for a monitor that displays at 1920x1080? I don't even know what the optimum resolution is for my television.
    You can download the new drivers from [URL="http://www.nvidia.co.uk/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-uk"]Here[/URL] if you wish. If the latest version listed on Nvidias site is already installed, then thats fine.

    To find out what Rez your screen will go to, right click you desktop, slecet Screen Resolution, then Resolution & see how high the slider goes too.

    That 1216x676 Rez isnt putting much strain on your GPU, so if your screen can go a bith higher, that would no doubt help. if not, a new monitor may help you enjoy your games a bit more. That GTX 560ti can handle the vast majority of games fine at 1920x1080. [URL="http://www.ebuyer.com/281269-aoc-i2353fh-lcd-ips-23-hdmi-monitor-aluminium-enclosure-i2353fh"]This[/URL] & [URL="http://www.ebuyer.com/284103-lg-ips235v-ips-lcd-led-23-hdmi-monitor-ips235v-bn"]This[/URL] are nice. Keep your eyes open for a special offer, becasue i've seen that LG one can go as low as £129 on Ebuyer.
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here

    Last edited by fatcobra; 05-05-2012 at 06:13 PM.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Tags

    diablo iii, performance issues, rig, swtor, wow

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump