Skip to main content

Sonic the Hedgehog livestream will show off ‘upcoming projects’

Sonic
(Image credit: Paramount Pictures)

Sega will host a Sonic Central livestream this Thursday, May 27, and it’s promising “a first look at some of the projects, partnerships, and events for our Sonic 30th celebration.” This year is indeed the 30th anniversary of the original Sega game’s 1991 release, but you don’t exactly need a big milestone to celebrate the blue boi: Sega promised a whole lot of Sonic news in 2020, but we didn’t get much that was relevant to PC, probably thanks to the pandemic.

There’s a fair bit on the cards for Sonic this year, though: the sequel to the live-action film is set to release in April 2022, and the marketing wheels are likely being greased for that right now. There’s also a Sonic Netflix animated series coming later this year, so we might hear more about that.

More interesting for fans of the games is the recent listing of a Sonic Collection on a French retailer’s website. It didn’t reveal much, aside from the fact that it’s coming to PS4. There’s no word on what games will feature in it but there is very compelling evidence that a Sonic Colors remaster project is in the offing.

Does the blue blur get any rest? He’s a persistent fellow. The Sonic Central stream will take place May 27 at 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm BST, or 2am on May 28 in Australia. You can catch it on YouTube or Twitch

Shaun is PC Gamer’s Australian editor and news writer. He mostly plays platformers and RPGs, and keeps a close eye on anything of particular interest to antipodean audiences. He (rather obsessively) tracks the movements of the Doom modding community, too.