Civilization V: The Swedish Saga, part 3 (1702 A.D. to 1868 A.D.)

The Treaty of Vienna

1853 A.D.: The Swedes invent Electricity, and the cities of Sweden become beacons in the night, just as they bring their allies together against the looming shadow of Greece.

Elsewhere, the leaders of the world gather in Vienna. Rome, France, Celtica, Sweden, Denmark, and Austria are united in mutual defensive pacts under the Treaty of Vienna. They become known as the Viennese Alliance, the first inter-continental league of its kind, forged to counter Greek and Russian aggression on their respective continents. England and Spain choose to remain neutral, and the Swedish and Austrian delegates continue to butt heads over religious differences. Similar issues arise over the Swedish occupation of Graz and Kaupang. The Alliance is not without tension, but the mutual threats it faces bind it together.

1855 A.D.: Spain cuts all ties to Russia and joins the Treaty of Vienna. England agrees to publicly denounce Greece, though they still do not sign the Treaty.

1856 A.D.: England finally signs the Treaty of Vienna, becoming the last major power to do so. The Greco-Russian Axis now has, quite literally, all the powers of the world arrayed against them.