Here's how powerful you need to be for each WoW Classic dungeon

wow classic dungeon levels
(Image credit: Blizzard Entertainment)

WoW Classic dungeons become available once you’ve reached the magical teen levels of Blizzard's retro MMO. All offer a change of pace from leveling in World of Warcraft, and the chance of better gear upgrades that will last you quite a few levels, and some flavor items for fun. 

In a game where transmogrification of gear doesn’t exist, it’s also worth noting that some of the armor from these dungeons is quite attractive, particularly if you wear leather. Even better—and unlike retail World of Warcraft—you’re not limited to five people in most of these instances. Most of these dungeons allow up to ten people, with the exceptions being Blackrock Depths, Stratholme, and Scholomance, which all enforce the five-player cap.

Bringing extra people makes them easier to complete too, as they don’t scale to group size. So, with your team assembled, here are the levels you need to be for each WoW Classic dungeon, including subsequent, Classic, expansions.

How World of Warcraft dungeons work

If you're a real beginner to MMOs, you'll be playing as one of three roles: tank, healer, and DPS. Tanks attract and absorb damage with their beefy health bars, healers keep the team alive, and DPS players deliver the damage. If you're summer green enough not to have known that before reading, we suggest you go DPS: you'll get the least aggro from other team members that way. Take three DPS, one healer, and one tank, and you're good to go.

To know where MMOs stand in 2020, read up on our updated list of the best MMOs.


(Image credit: Blizzard)

WoW Classic dungeons (10-60)

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DungeonMinimum levelRecommended level
Ragefire Chasm1013-18
Wailing Caverns1015-25
The Deadmines1018-23
Shadowfang Keep1422-30
Blackfathom Deeps1520-30
The Stockade1522-30
Razorfen Kraul2530-40
Scarlet Monastery2126-45
Razorfen Downs3540-50
Temple of Atal'Hakkar4555-60
Blackrock Depths4852-60
Lower Blackrock Spire4855-60
Upper Blackrock Spire4855-60
Dire Maul4855-60

Burning Crusade

(Image credit: Blizzard)

WoW Burning Crusade Classic dungeons (60-70) 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DungeonMinimum levelRecommended level
Hellfire Ramparts5860-62
The Blood Furnace5861-63
The Slave Pens5962-64
The Underbog 6063-65
Auchenai Crypts6365-67
Old Hillsbrad Foothills6466-68
Sethekk Halls6567-69
Shadow Labyrinth 6768-70
The Shattered Halls6768-70
The Botanica 6768-70
The Mechanar 6768-70
The Steamvault 6768-70
Black Morass (Dark Portal)6868-80

Wrath of the Lich King

(Image credit: Blizzard)

WoW Wrath Classic dungeons (70-80)

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DungeonMinimum level Recommended level
Utgarde Keep 6570-72
The Nexus6671-73
Azjol-Nerub 6772-74
Ahn'kahet: The Old Kingdom6873-75
Drak'Tharon Keep6974-76
The Violet Hold7075-77
Halls of Stone 7277-79
Halls of Lightning 7579-80
The Oculus 7579-80
The Culling of Stratholme7579-80
Trial of the Champion 7579-80
The Forge of Souls7579-80
Pit of Saron 8080
Halls of Reflection 8080
Utgarde Pinnacle8080


(Image credit: Blizzard)

WoW Cataclysm Classic dungeons (80-85)*

* Levels based on initial launch gameplay 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DungeonMinimum level Recommended level
Blackrock Caverns 7780-83
Throne of the Tides7780-83
The Stonecore7982-85
Vortex Pinnacle7982-85
Lost City of the Tol’vir 8083-85
Halls of Origination 8083-85
Grim Batol8084-85
End Time8585
Well of Eternity8585
Hour of Twilight8585
The Deadmines (Heroic)8585
Shadowfang Keep (Heroic)8585
Zul’Gurub (Heroic)8585
Zul’Aman (Heroic)8585