Skip to main content

Toonstruck, starring Christopher Lloyd and Ben Stein, is free on GOG

Audio player loading…

GOG's Summer Sale is ending soon, but before it does, it's got one more free game to throw at you: Toonstruck (opens in new tab), a mid-90s hybrid-FMV adventure featuring Christopher Lloyd, Ben Stein, Tim Curry, Dom DeLuise, David Ogden Stiers, Dan Castellaneta, Rob Paulsen, and Frank Welker. 

Toonstruck is mainly a hand-drawn game, but features Lloyd's digitized likeness as the player character, an animator named Drew Blanc. He's transported to the animated land of Cutopia, which he must save from the clutches of a ruthless villain, Count Nefarious, voiced by—what a surprise—Tim Curry. It was a pretty decent game but didn't sell very well at all, despite the big cast (I guess Keanu was right), and thus it is now yours for the taking. 

Toonstruck is free on GOG until 7 am PT/10 am ET on June 16. The GOG Summer Sale comes to an end at 3 pm PT/6 pm ET on June 17. 

Andy Chalk
Andy Chalk

Andy has been gaming on PCs from the very beginning, starting as a youngster with text adventures and primitive action games on a cassette-based TRS80. From there he graduated to the glory days of Sierra Online adventures and Microprose sims, ran a local BBS, learned how to build PCs, and developed a longstanding love of RPGs, immersive sims, and shooters. He began writing videogame news in 2007 for The Escapist and somehow managed to avoid getting fired until 2014, when he joined the storied ranks of PC Gamer. He covers all aspects of the industry, from new game announcements and patch notes to legal disputes, Twitch beefs, esports, and Henry Cavill. Lots of Henry Cavill.