Here's when The Witcher 3 next-gen update releases in your region

The Witcher 3 next gen update release times - Ciri and Geralt sitting
(Image credit: CDProjekt)

The Witcher 3 next-gen update release is imminent, reworking the seven-year old RPG with a long-awaited graphics and performance-based overhaul. Judging by the patch notes (opens in new tab), the update itself is pretty hefty, and even adds some popular community-based mods for use in the game. Along with the visual improvements, a cross-progression feature, quality-of-life changes, and quest fixes, it's looking pretty extensive.

If you're contemplating a new playthrough but have forgotten where the best Witcher gear is, these Feline armor (opens in new tab) and Ursine armor (opens in new tab) guides can help you track them down. This guide of The Witcher 3 romances (opens in new tab) might also prove handy if you've forgotten those key dialog choices. Otherwise, here are The Witcher 3 next-gen update release times so you can get yourself back on the path.

The Witcher 3 next-gen update release times 

(Image credit: CDProjekt)

The next-gen update of The Witcher releases on December 13 in the US and December 14 for most other places due to time zone differences. Here's when you can expect to play in your region: 

  • US West Coast: 4 pm PT (December 13)
  • US East Coast: 7 pm ET (December 13)
  • UK: 12 am GMT (December 14)
  • Europe: 1 am CET (December 14)
  • Japan: 9 am JST (December 14)
  • Australia: 11 am AEDT (December 14)
  • New Zealand: 1 pm NZDT (December 14)

The next-gen update is free to everyone who owns The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, and while it's primarily about vastly improving performance and visuals, there is a new side quest in Velen, as well as some new outfit and armor options based on the Netflix show. It also fixes a variety of known quest bugs and adds some quality-of-life changes, such as a quick sign casting option, and a long-awaited decrease in fall height damage. You can find the full list of changes in the official patch notes (opens in new tab)

Sean Martin
Guides Writer

Sean's first PC games were Full Throttle and Total Annihilation and his taste has stayed much the same since. When not scouring games for secrets or bashing his head against puzzles, you'll find him revisiting old Total War campaigns, agonizing over his Destiny 2 fit, or still trying to finish the Horus Heresy. Sean has also written for EDGE, Eurogamer, PCGamesN, Wireframe, EGMNOW, and Inverse.