Diablo 4's first battle pass details: reward types, price tiers, and more

Image for Diablo 4's first battle pass details: reward types, price tiers, and more
One of the premium rewards in the first Diablo 4 battle pass. (Image credit: Blizzard)

Fully clinching its status as a live service game, Diablo 4 will indeed have a battle pass. Diablo 4's battle pass is not available at launch, however, so you can just enjoy killing demons for the joy of it until it's introduced with Diablo 4 Season 1 in mid-July.

While the free battle pass tiers will include a new currency which you can put toward XP boosts, Blizzard has said that the premium tiers will only offer cosmetics and currency for the cosmetics shop. Here's everything we know about the Diablo 4 battle pass so far including the price, tiers, reward types, and start date:

When does the Diablo 4 battle pass start? 

The first Diablo 4 season and battle pass will begin on July 20 alongside Diablo 4 Season 1. You have to start a new seasonal character to advance the battle pass, but you can advance while playing through the main campaign with that character—you don't have to do the seasonal content, which starts after the campaign, to earn battle pass tiers, but it helps.

How much does the Diablo 4 battle pass cost? 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Diablo 4 battle pass tiers
Battle PassFree27 tiers
Premium Battle Pass1,000 Platinum ($9.99/£8.39)90 tiers
Accelerated Battle Pass2,800 Platinum ($24.99/£20.99)90 tiers and 20 tier skips

What rewards can you get in the Diablo 4 battle pass? 

Based on current cash shop package icons, we can spot an emote at tier 16, a tattoo at 19, Platinum at 14, and lots of weapon and armor skins. (Image credit: Blizzard)

There are 90 total reward tiers in the Diablo 4 battle pass, 63 of which are exclusive to the paid versions of the pass. In all versions of the pass you'll earn cosmetics and the special currency Smoldering Ashes, which can be used to buy resource gain boosts.

The premium tiers will only include cosmetics and the real-money currency Platinum, which can be used to buy cosmetics in the shop, or be put towards the next battle pass. As is usually the case, the coolest cosmetics will be likely be found in the Premium tiers, though it'll be a matter of taste.

Here are the reward types we can expect in Diablo 4's battle pass:

  • Weapon and armor skins
  • Emotes
  • Tattoos/markings
  • Smoldering Ashes
  • Platinum

During a livestream detailing Season 1, Blizzard showed off a few example cosmetics. You can see those in the video below.

Smoldering Ashes are spent to unlock "Season Blessings" which are passive buffs that give you a better earn rate on character experience, gold, or murmuring obols. The obols are what's worth noting, in my opinion, since they can be spent at the Purveyor of Curiosities to get random gear which may be legendary quality. That blessing isn't shown in the image above but is mentioned in the official Diablo 4 blog.

(Image credit: Blizzard)

It's a bit of an intense strategy, but I bet we'll see at least some folks opting for the accelerated battle pass, skipping tiers to get Soldering Ashes to grind murmuring obols faster and take their chances rolling for gear with legendary aspects at the purveyor.


Diablo 4 guide: Everything you need
Diablo 4 mount: Race across the map
Diablo 4 level unlocks: New vendors
Diablo 4 Altars of Lilith: Stat boosts and XP
Diablo 4 Murmuring Obols: Get Legendary gear

Lauren Morton
Associate Editor

Lauren started writing for PC Gamer as a freelancer in 2017 while chasing the Dark Souls fashion police and accepted her role as Associate Editor in 2021, now serving as the self-appointed chief cozy games enjoyer. She originally started her career in game development and is still fascinated by how games tick in the modding and speedrunning scenes. She likes long books, longer RPGs, has strong feelings about farmlife sims, and can't stop playing co-op crafting games.

With contributions from