Skip to main content

Cyberpunk 2077 release date: Here's exactly when Cyberpunk 2077 unlocks

Cyberpunk 2077 unlock times revealed
(Image credit: CD Projekt)

Cyberpunk 2077 is almost here. Preloads are now live, and the Cyberpunk 2077 release date, the time it will unlock on all of our PCs, is just hours away. Exactly how many hours depends on your timezone.

The release date is December 10th, but the release time actually differs for PC launch, some of us will be able to play in the morning, while others may end up staying awake until late at night to jump into Night City.

Here's the breakdown of exactly when Cyberpunk 2077 unlocks in each timezone. While you're waiting to play it yourself, why not read our review?

When does Cyberpunk 2077 unlock?

The official Cyberpunk 2077 release date is December 10th at 12 am GMT. That means players in the UK can start unlocking and playing Cyberpunk 2077 at midnight. (That's actually 1 am for CD Projekt's developers in Poland, so they're going to be staying up real late that night as the launch unfolds.)

Good news for PC gamers in North America: You'll get to start playing Cyberpunk 2077 while it's still light out on December 9th! Here's a quick look at how the release date breaks down across major timezones: 

  • 4 pm PT on December 9
  • 7 pm ET on December 9
  • 12 am GMT on December 10
  • 8 am CST on December 10
  • 11 am AEDT on December 10

If you're not in one of those time zones, a map tweeted by CD Projekt has more details. You can also click on this time zone calculator link to add your own timezone. It'll do the math for you, so you don't have to second guess the timezone conversion.

See more

Console players are on a slightly different schedule: CD Projekt said that console versions "will release in each region at midnight local time." That means depending on where you live, you may end up playing Cyberpunk 2077 hours earlier on PC than it's available on consoles.

Expect at least one patch for Cyberpunk 2077 at launch. We had access to a 50GB patch during the review process, and CD Projekt has said that more fixes are coming on release.

Here's an easily enlargeable version of the map that shows a range of timezones, if you want to triple-check your unlock time. Just click the expand icon in the corner.

(Image credit: CD Projekt Red)
Wes Fenlon

Wes has been covering games and hardware for more than 10 years, first at tech sites like The Wirecutter and Tested before joining the PC Gamer team in 2014. Wes plays a little bit of everything, but he'll always jump at the chance to cover emulation and Japanese games. When he's not obsessively optimizing and re-optimizing a tangle of conveyor belts in Satisfactory (it's really becoming a problem), he's probably playing a 20-year-old RPG or some opaque ASCII roguelike. With a focus on writing and editing features, he seeks out personal stories and in-depth histories from the corners of PC gaming and its niche communities. 50% pizza by volume (deep dish, to be specific).