Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 01-14-2012, 10:56 PM
    Gav-Man92 Gav-Man92 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2011
    Location: Essex.
    Posts: 25
    Question Cheap and good mouse adapter for PS3?

    Hi

    I have been wanting to play Battlefield 3 with my PS3 mates for ages. I'm the only PC gamer among them and am awful at aiming an analogue stick to shoot people. I just refuse to use anything other than a mouse as it is something I grew up with using.

    I did a little research on mouse adapters for a console so I could re-buy the game and play with them in comfort. All the ones I have found people report 'stair casing' issues with them, which looks like they would suck and be of no use. The only good one appears to be XIM3, but it's extremely expensive to get hold of in the UK. I'm not willing to pay that high because I'd be playing Battlefield 3 on PC most of the time as usual. I just want to be able to play with them once in a while and not be left out.

    Does anyone know of the best cheaper alternative to XIM3 to buy that has minimal stair casing etc?

    Please don't flame me for not using a controller as I have stated I can't do it and it's a retarded input device for shooters and is why I am a PC gamer. Also please don't say just play on PC because I have explained the problem too.

    Thanks.

    Sorry for any grammar or spelling mistakes as this was typed on an iPhone.
    __________________
    Windows 8 Pro x64 | Intel i5 2500k 3.3 GHz | 8 GB Corsair XMS3 | ASUS GTX 560ti 1GB | 1TB Samsung Spintpoint F3 HDD
    | SanDisk UltraPlus 256GB SSD | AOC I2367Fh 1080p Monitor
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 01-14-2012, 11:06 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,623
    Default

    unfortunately stuff like the max shooter is the only real option and they all fall into about the £50+ mark, the sad thing is the PS3 has native support for USB mice and keyboards just game makers refuse to offer native support as it is a massive advantage over the controllers.

    so unfortunately your out of luck other than buying an over priced converter.
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 01-15-2012, 11:58 AM
    Gav-Man92 Gav-Man92 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2011
    Location: Essex.
    Posts: 25
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Belimawr View Post
    unfortunately stuff like the max shooter is the only real option and they all fall into about the £50+ mark, the sad thing is the PS3 has native support for USB mice and keyboards just game makers refuse to offer native support as it is a massive advantage over the controllers.

    so unfortunately your out of luck other than buying an over priced converter.
    I don't mind paying £50 to £60 for an adapter or mouse controller thing, but £175 to £250 for XIM3 is just ridiculous.

    The problem with XIM3 is that it is made in America so you have to deal with shipping costs etc. It probably wouldn't be so bad if someone made a similar/ more simpler device here without an expensive LCD display, or whatever XIM3 uses. I was hoping there'd be a cheaper device out there that has significantly less stair casing than the ones people moan about, sort of in between XIM3 and them. Looks like I'm out of luck I think.

    Yeah I can see why game manufacturers don't do it because a good PC gamer would probably just own everyone and get banned for 'hacking' with near aimbot precision. Valve on the other hand seem to be allowing controller and mouse combat in Counter-Strike: GO though; not sure what will happen there.
    __________________
    Windows 8 Pro x64 | Intel i5 2500k 3.3 GHz | 8 GB Corsair XMS3 | ASUS GTX 560ti 1GB | 1TB Samsung Spintpoint F3 HDD
    | SanDisk UltraPlus 256GB SSD | AOC I2367Fh 1080p Monitor
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 01-15-2012, 12:21 PM
    DuddBudda DuddBudda is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2011
    Location: Europe
    Posts: 4,324
    Default

    wouldn't any old USB mouse work on PS3?
    __________________

    Holy Cow - Warren Spector
    Life is too fucking short to hear or play Freebird - Isaac Brock
    I hope I see you later, where everybody's okay - Randy Brewer
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 01-15-2012, 12:39 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,623
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DuddBudda View Post
    wouldn't any old USB mouse work on PS3?
    Not in games as they are all mapped for the controller you can count on one hand the games that can map for keyboard and mouse, this is why the converters exist as it lets you map the keyboard and mouse so it tells the ps3 it is the controller buttons.
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 01-15-2012, 12:50 PM
    DuddBudda DuddBudda is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2011
    Location: Europe
    Posts: 4,324
    Default

    ok, are there not soft options?
    __________________

    Holy Cow - Warren Spector
    Life is too fucking short to hear or play Freebird - Isaac Brock
    I hope I see you later, where everybody's okay - Randy Brewer
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 01-15-2012, 01:21 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,623
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DuddBudda View Post
    ok, are there not soft options?
    PS3 is too locked down, there was a couple of older firmwares that could be hacked but sony locked it down quick as people started using it for piracy and locked the consoles using the exploit from PSN, so using that would defeat the point of why he wanted it. it's why you still don't find many pirate PS3 games as it is still the hardest console to run pirate games, that is before taking into account keeping a PSN account.
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 01-15-2012, 03:05 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,567
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Belimawr View Post
    PS3 is too locked down, there was a couple of older firmwares that could be hacked but sony locked it down quick as people started using it for piracy and locked the consoles using the exploit from PSN, so using that would defeat the point of why he wanted it. it's why you still don't find many pirate PS3 games as it is still the hardest console to run pirate games, that is before taking into account keeping a PSN account.
    .

    Not really. You just can't be on the latest firmware, that's all.

    I just use my PS3 as a Folding@Home machine.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #9   Report Post  
    Old 01-15-2012, 03:06 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,623
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tr4656 View Post
    .

    Not really. You just can't be on the latest firmware, that's all.

    I just use my PS3 as a Folding@Home machine.
    Meaning no psn defeating the point of why he wants it.
    Reply With Quote
      #10   Report Post  
    Old 01-15-2012, 05:31 PM
    Gav-Man92 Gav-Man92 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2011
    Location: Essex.
    Posts: 25
    Default

    I've just found an adapter called Swifty Eagleeye that appears to be pretty good. Several videos show it being good and it costs around the £50 mark.

    [url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0roRvSJMQMQ[/url]
    [url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_H4oCxENnfs[/url]

    It seems all right on COD, but of course that does have aim assist whereas BF3 doesn't. Has anyone got this device?
    __________________
    Windows 8 Pro x64 | Intel i5 2500k 3.3 GHz | 8 GB Corsair XMS3 | ASUS GTX 560ti 1GB | 1TB Samsung Spintpoint F3 HDD
    | SanDisk UltraPlus 256GB SSD | AOC I2367Fh 1080p Monitor

    Last edited by Gav-Man92; 01-15-2012 at 05:40 PM.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Tags

    xim3

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump