Skip to main content

Rising Storm 2: Vietnam is free to play this weekend

Audio player loading…

Rising Storm 2: Vietnam (opens in new tab) is free to play for most of this weekend. Until Sunday at 8pm BST/3pm ET/12pm PT you can shoot your way through its objective-focused maps and try out its tactical teamwork for nothing, and if you like what you see it's available at a 25% discount.

If you're a fan of slower-paced online shooters that require proper planning and a cautious approach (you can die in one shot, often from an unseen enemy), it might be worth checking out. Tyler had a blast when he reviewed it (opens in new tab).

I haven't picked up my Grease Gun for a while because, while I loved what I played after it came out, I've been waiting for new content. Its map pool is relatively limited, something that players have started to point out in the Steam reviews (opens in new tab). As Tyler wrote this morning, a new update is incoming (opens in new tab) within the next three months that will add troops from Australia and New Zealand, new maps and new weapons, which I reckon will be enough to tempt me back.

With the 25% discount, which lasts until Monday, it'll set you back £14.24/$18.74. Download it on Steam (opens in new tab). Oh, and its double XP until Tuesday so new players can level up extra fast.

Samuel Horti
Samuel Horti

Samuel Horti is a long-time freelance writer for PC Gamer based in the UK, who loves RPGs and making long lists of games he'll never have time to play. He's now a full-time reporter covering health at the Bureau of Investigative Journalism. When he does have time for games you may find him on the floor, struggling under the weight of his Steam backlog.