Destiny 2 roadmap: Season of the Splicer details

Guardians shoot a Minotaur inside a Vex simulation.
(Image credit: Bungie)

Destiny 2's new batch of freshly baked content kicks off in the Season of the Splicer on May 11, bringing back the Vault of Glass raid later in the month and several other additions. As ever, there's a new season pass to work through, new weapons to collect, and a full calendar of events to keep you busy all summer. 

The Vex-themed season kicks off when they force the city into eternal darkness. Fallen buddy Mithrax is finally taking center stage to help out with the Vex issue throughout the season. 

The Season of the Splicer brings weekly pinnacle missions for season pass holders and the new six-player matchmade Override activities where you'll hack into the Vex network. There's also the Vault of Glass raid which is making its Destiny 2 debut after originally appearing in the first Destiny.

Over in our state of Destiny 2 assessment, Phil takes a loot at the bigger picture for the current year of Destiny 2, saying that this year's seasons leading up to the game's next expansion have a lot of prove and a lot of gaps to fill before it gets here.

When is the Season of the Splicer?

Destiny 2's Season of the Splicer runs from May 11, 2021 - August 24, 2021. 

Season of the Splicer roadmap

(Image credit: Bungie)

Bungie has also released this season's roadmap going over the dates for different activities and events. Here's what you can expect to be doing during the Season of the Splicer and when:

Swipe to scroll horizontally
May 11Intro Mission - The Endless Night BeginsAll players
May 11New Stasis - Aspect QuestsBeyond Light
May 11Override: EuropaSeason of the Splicer pass
May 14Trials of Osiris beginsAll players
May 18Iron BannerAll players
May 18Override: MoonSeason of the Splicer pass
May 22Vault of GlassAll players
May 25Weekly Pinnacle missionSeason of the Splicer pass
May 25Override: Tangled ShoreSeason of the Splicer pass
June 1Weekly Pinnacle missionSeason of the Splicer pass
June 8Iron BannerAll players
June 8Weekly Pinnacle missionSeason of the Splicer pass
June 15Vault of Glass raid challengesAll players
June 15Weekly Pinnacle missionSeason of the Splicer pass
June 22Weekly Pinnacle missionSeason of the Splicer pass
June 29Iron BannerAll players
June 29Weekly Pinnacle missionSeason of the Splicer pass
July 6Solstice of Heroes beginsAll players
July 6Vault of Glass difficulty optionsAll players
August 3Solstice of Heroes endsAll players
August 3Iron BannerAll players
August 10EpilogueAll players

Destiny 2 is adding the Vault of Glass raid

The Vault of Glass raid is making its way to Destiny 2 this season. "Stored away, deep in the Vault of Glass on Venus is Atheon, Time's Conflux," Bungie say. "No one knows what this Vex is. Guardians must access the Vault, navigate the fractures in space and time, and terminate Atheon before it can become an unstoppable threat."

The Vault of Glass opens up starting on May 22, with difficulty options for the raid being added on July 6.

Season of the Splicer new legendaries and exotics

Season of the Splicer is adding and overhauling 30 different legendary weapons and introducing transmogs as well. Aside from that though, there are three different sets of exotic boots to grab.

Star-Eater Scales: Allows Hunters to feast upon Orbs of Power, charging their Super more quickly and making it more potent.

The Path of Burning Steps: Titan armor that converts Solar eliminations into increased weapon damage and makes them more difficult to lock down with Stasis.

Boots of the Assembler: Condenses a Warlock rifts' healing or empowering energy into projectiles that seek out their allies to bless them with noble benefits.

Down on Destiny 2's Season of the Splicer page, they get into which free rewards you can earn during the season even if you don't buy the pass.

Morgan Park
Staff Writer

Morgan has been writing for PC Gamer since 2018, first as a freelancer and currently as a staff writer. He has also appeared on Polygon, Kotaku, Fanbyte, and PCGamesN. Before freelancing, he spent most of high school and all of college writing at small gaming sites that didn't pay him. He's very happy to have a real job now. Morgan is a beat writer following the latest and greatest shooters and the communities that play them. He also writes general news, reviews, features, the occasional guide, and bad jokes in Slack. Twist his arm, and he'll even write about a boring strategy game. Please don't, though.