Skip to main content

Diablo 2: Resurrected gets an open beta this weekend

Diablo 2: Resurrected
(Image credit: Blizzard)

The beta for Diablo 2: Resurrected is open to everyone this weekend.

The latest on Blizzard's workplace allegations

Activision Blizzard walkout

(Image credit: Getty/Bloomberg)

Activision Blizzard is currently facing a lawsuit alleging widespread discrimination and sexual harassment. Here's everything that's happened since the lawsuit went public

It's already been running for nearly a week for those who've pre-ordered the game or received a key through Twitch, but this weekend will see the beta open up to all players. It'll be available in both single-player and multiplayer modes, with cross-progression between PC and consoles enabled.

The first two acts of the game will be the focus of the beta, with five of the seven classes available to play—the Amazon, Barbarian, Sorceress, Druid and Paladin. There's no level cap either, which should mean the opportunity to play around with different character builds. Any progress made in the beta won't carry over to the full game though, so don't bother grinding for the sake of it. 

The Diablo 2: Resurrected open beta kicks off on August 20 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST on Battle.net and will run until August 23 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST. The full game releases September 23, 2021.

Mollie Taylor

A fresh writer in the industry, Mollie has been taken under PC Gamer's RGB-laden wing, making sure she doesn't get up to too much mischief on the site. She's not quite sure what a Command & Conquer is, but she can rattle on for hours about all the obscure rhythm games and strange MMOs from the 2000s. She's been cooking up all manner of news, previews and features while she's been here, but especially enjoys when she gets to write about Final Fantasy, Persona, The Sims, and whatever other game she's currently hopelessly fixated on. There's a good chance she's boring another PC Gamer writer about her latest obsession as we speak.