Skip to main content

Deleting or deactivating your Facebook does the same to your Oculus account

An image of an Oculus Quest 2 VR headset.
(Image credit: Facebook)
Audio player loading…

Facebook does not want you to stop using Facebook, it seems, because if you deactivate your account for a little break you'll also lose access to your Oculus Profile. Perhaps worse, if you delete your Facebook account you'll also delete your app purchases and achievements. "You will no longer be able to return any apps," says Facebook, "and will lose any existing store credits." So buyer beware: If you purchase an Oculus Quest 2 (opens in new tab) you'll need a Facebook account, and that account will have to be active at all times and, presumably, in good standing if you want to use your Quest 2. 

It's a useful bit of information to know, popularized by Twitter user CixLiv this week. 

See more

First reported and confirmed by UploadVR (opens in new tab), this is just the latest of the controversies surrounding Facebook's decision to tie future Oculus VR Headset use to an otherwise-unrelated Facebook account. Users of past headsets who have not tied their Oculus account to Facebook can continue using those accounts until 2023.

The change was announced earlier (opens in new tab) this year and has only gotten more controversial and unpopular since. Things came to a head with the Oculus Quest 2 headset launch: Some users who had trouble activating long-dormant Facebook accounts were left with a frustratingly unusable headset. (opens in new tab) 

Despite these controversies, the Oculus Quest 2 is selling better than expected. (opens in new tab) 

Jon Bolding is a games writer and critic with an extensive background in strategy games. When he's not on his PC, he can be found playing every tabletop game under the sun.