Watch OpenAI's Dota 2 bots square off against five top players live on Twitch today

Audio player loading…

Update: And that's game, with the AI victorious in two rounds out of three. However, the show's still going on Twitch (opens in new tab) with OpenAI explaining more about how they built and tested their team, and what's next for them.

Original story: Research institute OpenAI, which Elon Musk co-founded in 2015, is set to send its super-smart self-taught Dota 2 (opens in new tab) bots to The International 2018 later this month to take on a team of experienced pros (opens in new tab). Today, those bots are playing a benchmark match against five top players, including former pros, casters and analysts. The action will stream live on Twitch from 12:30pm PT/3:30pm ET/8:30pm BST. Click here to watch (opens in new tab).

The human team is made up of Blitz, Cap, Fogged, Merlini and Moonmeander, with commentary from Purge and ODPixel.

The bot team, called OpenAI Five, has certainly had enough practice to hold its own: it has been playing 180 years' worth of games against itself every day, picking up the intricacies of the MOBA along the way. 

OpenAI's 1v1 bot beat pro player Danil "Dendi" Ishutin at last year's The International, and the institute says the learning process for OpenAI Five is much more complex, requiring 256 GPUs and 128,000 CPU cores.

If you're interested, it's worth reading OpenAI's blog post on the challenges its Five team faces (opens in new tab), including the complex rules of Dota 2, and the fact that, at any given time, a hero could have more than 100,000 possible actions open to them.

Samuel Horti is a long-time freelance writer for PC Gamer based in the UK, who loves RPGs and making long lists of games he'll never have time to play. He's now a full-time reporter covering health at the Bureau of Investigative Journalism. When he does have time for games you may find him on the floor, struggling under the weight of his Steam backlog.