Skip to main content

Twin-stick shooter Helldivers gets free weekend and difficulty upgrade

Audio player loading…

Helldivers, the twin-stick shooter from Magicka (opens in new tab) creators Arrowhead, is free to play this weekend on Steam, and has just received a major update that adds ultra-hard difficulty levels and tough new enemies.

It's free until tomorrow 10am PST/1pm ET/5pm GMT (the clocks go back in the UK overnight tonight—don't forget!), and if you like what you see, it's on sale for $9.99/£7.99 (opens in new tab), which is close to its lowest ever price.

If you were a Magicka fan, it might be worth checking out, and the new update offers something for returning players, too. You can now play on three new difficulty levels: An Exercise in Futility (lvl13), The Definition of Insanity (lvl14), and the Inner Circle of Hell (lvl15), which all sound equally horrible.

You'll fight against three new challenging foes, including Shadow, a hunter that can camouflage itself and release spores that lure other enemies to the area. You'll also get your hands on the new MGX-42 Machinegun, a one-use weapon that you chuck away after spewing out its 300 rounds. 

You can check out a gif of the weapon in action below, and click here (opens in new tab) for more details on the update.

Samuel Horti is a long-time freelance writer for PC Gamer based in the UK, who loves RPGs and making long lists of games he'll never have time to play. He's now a full-time reporter covering health at the Bureau of Investigative Journalism. When he does have time for games you may find him on the floor, struggling under the weight of his Steam backlog.