Battlefield 4 beta now live for some, live for all this coming Friday

Audio player loading…

(opens in new tab)

The levolution has begun - well, sort of. The Battlefield 4 (opens in new tab) beta has just gone live for Battlefield Premium members, pre-orderers, Medal of Honor: Warfighter owners, and anyone who's ever given an EA executive the secret codeword ('legume'). Those lucky few can also access the BF4 part of Battlelog, which is nice. The rest of us will have to wait until Friday - Friday at 1AM PDT/9AM UTC/10AM BST to be exact.

The rollout times come courtesy of Battlelog (opens in new tab) , which reveals that PC players have had/will get at least an hour's headstart. The beta launch doesn't appear to have gone completely smoothly yet, with Origin's twitter account (opens in new tab) announcing that "a small number of BF3 Premium players on PC are unable to access the Exclusive [Battlefield 4 beta]. We're on it and will update when resolved."

What does the beta involve, exactly? You'll find the details here (opens in new tab) , but essentially it lasts until October 15th, giving players access to the Siege of Shanghai map.

(Ta, PCGamesN (opens in new tab) )

Tom loves exploring in games, whether it’s going the wrong way in a platformer or burgling an apartment in Deus Ex. His favourite game worlds—Stalker, Dark Souls, Thief—have an atmosphere you could wallop with a blackjack. He enjoys horror, adventure, puzzle games and RPGs, and played the Japanese version of Final Fantasy VIII with a translated script he printed off from the internet. Tom has been writing about free games for PC Gamer since 2012. If he were packing for a desert island, he’d take his giant Columbo boxset and a laptop stuffed with PuzzleScript games.