Skip to main content

Blizzard teasing new Hearthstone special announcement coming next weekend

Hearthstone year of the Kraken announcement

Technically, this is the announcement of a future announcement, but we'll let it slide because it's about time we had some insight into what to expect from Blizzard next set of wizard poker cards. We're told big news will be made at the Hearthstone Winter Championship taking place next weekend. Lead Designer Ben Brode and Senior Producer Yong Woo will make a special announcement about what's next—which presumably means details of the next card set, due to go live alongside the upcoming Standard format sometime in spring.

The Americas Winter Championship, the first of three Winter Championship weekends that will be held in March, begins at 10 am PST on March 11 and runs through March 13. The European Winter Championship will follow on the March 18-20 weekend, beginning at 5 am PST (2 pm CET), while the Asia-Pacific Winter Championship will run March 24-26, with a 9 pm PST (14:00 KST) start time. Catch it all—the announcement and the action—on the Hearthstone Twitch channel.

Andy Chalk

Andy has been gaming on PCs from the very beginning, starting as a youngster with text adventures and primitive action games on a cassette-based TRS80. From there he graduated to the glory days of Sierra Online adventures and Microprose sims, ran a local BBS, learned how to build PCs, and developed a longstanding love of RPGs, immersive sims, and shooters. He began writing videogame news in 2007 for The Escapist and somehow managed to avoid getting fired until 2014, when he joined the storied ranks of PC Gamer. He covers all aspects of the industry, from new game announcements and patch notes to legal disputes, Twitch beefs, esports, and Henry Cavill. Lots of Henry Cavill.