Skip to main content

Gamescom will kick off with world premieres from more than 15 publishers

(Image credit: Gamescom)

You've all had plenty of time to digest E3, so now it's almost time for Gamescom. It's only a fortnight away and, according to Geoff Keighley, who is hosting Opening Night Live, the cavalcade of announcements will start with world premieres from more than 15 publishers. 

2K, Activision, Capcom, Epic, Google, Sega and lots more will be showing things off on Monday, August 19, ushering in a week of reveals and previews. E3 was a bit of a quiet one this year, aside from Keanu, so hopefully things will be a bit more exciting at Gamescom. You'll be able to watch it on Twitch at 8 pm CEST/11 am PT.

See more

Before Opening Night Live, Google will also host its second Stadia Connect, which you'll be able to watch live at 7 pm CEST/10 am PT. The focus will be on games this time, so we'll likely be seeing a bunch of reveals. Watch that here

Fraser Brown

Fraser is the UK online editor and has actually met The Internet in person. With over a decade of experience, he's been around the block a few times, serving as a freelancer, news editor and prolific reviewer. Strategy games have been a 30-year-long obsession, from tiny RTSs to sprawling political sims, and he never turns down the chance to rave about Total War or Crusader Kings. He's also been known to set up shop in the latest MMO and likes to wind down with an endlessly deep, systemic RPG. These days, when he's not editing, he can usually be found writing features that are 1,000 words too long. He thinks labradoodles are the best dogs but doesn't get to write about them much.