Fortnite Season 5 release date revealed

Last week, our own resident Fortnite aficionado James penned everything we know about Fortnite Season 5. Today, we have the Fortnite Season 5 release date and, all going well, a launch time: Thursday, July 12 at 1am PST / 9am BST. 

As explained by Epic community coordinator Sean Hamilton, aka MrPopoTFS, the fifth campaign is set to roll out in two weeks' time. Here's the subreddit reveal in full: 

Heya folks,

Season 4 is coming to an end! We want to give you a heads up on the exact ending time. You may have seen the timer update in-game, which means we are giving you two more days to complete Season 4! Season 5 will begin on July 12th at 4 AM EDT (08:00 GMT).

Want even more help earning those last few Battle Pass rewards? We’ll be running a +100% match XP weekend starting June 29th at 4AM EDT (08:00 GMT) and ending on July 2nd at 3AM EDT (07:00 GMT). Hop in, catch up on challenges, and earn those Season 4 rewards while you can!

You'll still need to rely on James' wise words regarding what Season 5 might entail for now—but the incoming 100 percent XP weekend is a nice wee bonus. Moreover, the battle royale's v4.5 patch is live, and we reckon Fortnite's mysterious missile may launch on July 1

Share your own thoughts on what we can expect from Season 5 in the comments below.