Call of Duty XP 2011

Call of Duty XP: Live dispatch from our embedded reporter

Will Porter at

Howard Hughes built the first hangar entirely out of wood in 1943, convinced that structures made of metal were intrinsically unhygenic. In the cavernous interior next door, rumour has it, last week they were filming Batman. Today, right now, Infinity Ward Creative Strategist Robert Bowling is in the central hall and playing to a home crowd.

Walking from one end of the hangar would take at least five minutes – it’s a vast space the size and shape of a landing strip you’d usually expect deep inside the Battlestar Galactica. Today, however, you’re not walking anywhere. The hall is packed with bodies – some with fists raised, others with unfurled hands alternately moving between forehead and open mouth.


Play Modern Warfare 3 at the Call of Duty XP event

Matt Purslow at

Activision have revealed ticket prices and information on the Call of Duty XP convention on the CoD XP website, where the public will get their first chance to play Modern Warfare 3.

Tickets to the event go on sale on July 19 at 10am PST (1pm EST, 6pm BST) and will set you back $150. Your cash gets you two days at the event at a location that is no less than the equivalent of nine football pitches big. Read on for more details and information on the $1million prize fund.


Call of Duty XP 2011 will have MW3 multiplayer, MW2 paintball arena and Burger Town

Tom Senior at

Call of Duty XP is a huge two day live event in LA celebrating all things Call of Duty. This is really happening. There's proof on the official Call of Duty XP site, spotted by Joystiq.

The event will take place on September 2-3 in a "secure 12-acre compound" in Los Angeles. Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer will be shown for the first time at the show, and Activision are planning to unveil the full feature set for their Call of Duty Elite service. There will also be a $1 million CoD tournament to test the best players.