I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream

Genre(s): Adventure
UK Release Date:
US Release Date:
UK Publisher: Cyberdreams
US Publisher: Cyberdreams
Developer: The Dreamers Guild
Age Rating: ESRB Pending | PEGI Pending

Originally released in 1995, I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream is based on the science fiction short-story by Harlan Ellison of the same name. The game sets up a scenario where a small group of damaged individuals are the last people on Earth, only they have been kept underground and tortured by a super computer named AM for the last 109 years. Progress in the game is based on choices the player makes that demonstrate the differences between human beings and machines, in that the humans, as unbalanced as some of the captives might be, are able to show how they can survive in spite of their broken characters.

The original 1967 story by Ellison won the Hugo Award a year later and Ellison himself worked as a designer of the computer version and plays the voice of the evil supercomputer AM.

Latest on I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream