Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Play with PC Gamer > ArmA 2

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 04-30-2011, 04:12 PM
    arwdassain arwdassain is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 1
    Default Settings

    Playing last night was awsome, But i was wondering if there was certain settings that i need to turn off or on to make my game run smooth as butter. First Time playing last Got me hooked so i will be back for more. Any help at all would be great.

    Intel i-5 , 8gb ram, Ati 6870.
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 05-01-2011, 11:42 AM
    sileter sileter is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2011
    Location: swansea
    Posts: 8
    Send a message via AIM to sileter Send a message via MSN to sileter Send a message via Skype™ to sileter
    Default

    i would say for your rig whicfh is pretty similar to mine have a gts450 instead of a 6870 turn postprocessing down it likes to rape frame rates well it did on my pc
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 05-17-2011, 12:09 PM
    M3PH M3PH is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2011
    Posts: 1
    Default

    If you want to tweak your arma performance (i've had to do some reading on this as i've just finished playing through the harvest red campain in CO) check out the BIS forums. There are a couple of good tweaking threads on there. The basic jist of them is to change the startup shortcut so it looks like this:

    C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /C START "ArmA 2 OA" /high "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\arma 2 operation arrowhead\ArmA2OA.exe" -nosplash -world=empty -cpucount=4 -exThreads=7 -maxmem=2047 -mod=@ussocom

    What that does is run the ArmA 2 OA process in high priority, disable the splash screen and disable world loading on the menu screen. It also sets the processor affinity and the amout of extra threads that ArmA 2 OA can use for I/O access. It also loads the US SOCOM mod that adjust some of the textures, removes the motion blur and few other things that improves performance and finally tells it how much memory it can use.

    On my system these tweaks have helped with performance emensely in both ArmA 2 and OA and i would reccomend them to every one.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump