Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

#1   Report Post  
    Old 04-24-2011, 05:59 AM

Default Installing steam on two hard drives

Alright guys and gals, I've got a query for you.

I've been browsing various SSDs after getting my income tax back. However, my main concern at this point is how to install my steam games on various drives. I plan on putting my constant go to games on my SSD, and everything else on my "old" HDD.

How do I install steam to two different locations? (Or do I?)
    How would I get steam to recognize games in different locations?
    Is there a way to choose where I want it to download to every time?

Thanks in advance!
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 04-24-2011, 07:13 AM

[FONT="Georgia"]Now I'm no expert by any stretch, but last year I had to transfer Steam to another (greater) Hard Drive. It was simple and if you don't have any saved games that you want kept then it's even easier!

I've never tried multiple drives but maybe this link can help.

[url]http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998110[/url]
    [/FONT]
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 04-24-2011, 07:39 AM

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Karazak View Post
    How do I install steam to two different locations? (Or do I?)
    You don't, the only way i'm aware of getting steam games across two drives is if they are in RAID 0 or 1.

Quote:
    How would I get steam to recognize games in different locations?
    It doesn't, it reads from the steam folder, which is specified to one drive (or multiple if running RAID).

Quote:
    Is there a way to choose where I want it to download to every time?
    Nope, not that i'm aware of. It just downloads the games to the steam folder on what ever drive you put it on.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by BetaWolf47 View Post
    I think the real reason we're a dying breed is because we have trouble breeding.
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 04-24-2011, 11:21 AM