Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 12-04-2010, 08:40 AM
    childofbhaal childofbhaal is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Brighton
    Posts: 128
    Default BSOD Errors

    Morning,
    Ok... Well I was on the desktop listening to iTunes and just going through some files when I got a BSOD - IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL - Error code 0A. It dumped the files and rebooted but wouldn't load so I restarted and I got to put in my password and then it BSOD'd on me again... same error. I tried in safe mode and got in but couldn't get online as I use a dongle. I used my mobile to check some errors and it would seem to be the sound card so I disabled it in BIOS and managed to get into windows, I tried itunes again incase it was that and got an error - "itunes has detected a problem with your audio/video configuration" maybe it was the deactivated sound card but got BSOD within a minute with a new error = SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION - 3B.

    Restarting fine now though. I called PCSpecialistand they seemed to suggest it was the graphics drivers so we went into safe mode and deleted the drivers, got into normal windows fine then when it was reinstalling the drivers I got BSOD with the 0A error again. I had to reset a few BIOS settings as the constant restarts would seem to have befuddled the bios...Now when I go into safe mode too I get BSOD with a 3rd error = (Theres no name) - 1E...

    So looks like I'm pretty screwed... I can't get into safe mode or normal mode (well I can get into them but I only get about 10 seconds before rapid fire noise a frozen screen and the BSOD... I've tried to repair with windows disk but no errors found and I can't even restore as it can't find any resotre points, which is worrying. I'm all out of ideas!! No idea why it suddenly started, it's a 2 week old fresh install of windows vista 64 with the latest drivers (was having freezes ingame with an old card - solved by upgrading to the gtx460 - no problems since then) Was using it fine on friday all day... replaying Dragonage origins without a problem and for about 30 minutes on saturday before this shit started...

    The tech guy (sorry, can't remember his name) suggested that if I can't delete the drivers and then reinstall new drivers in windows (which the 10 seconds I get of it would suggest not) then I need a complete wipe and reinstall of windows... I was thinking of upgrading the HD if that is the case but not sure what drives the Motherboard can handle, I know it's running a SATA drive but not sure what kinds of drives it can support (ie SATA II or III or whatever...) Can you help me on that too if I actually need a new drive? Bit of a long winded message just wanted to get all the info in it
    __________________

    Last edited by childofbhaal; 12-05-2010 at 05:26 AM.
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 12-04-2010, 06:03 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    Damn that makes my eyes hurt, any chance you could get some paragraphs in ?

    I am not an expert, but those are varied problems, which could be Software or Hardware related. One of the first places to look usally, would be the RAM, try runnning [URL="http://download.cnet.com/Memtest86/3000-2086_4-10524193.html"]Memtest86[/URL] to see if it finds anything wrong. While your doing that, i am sure the more knowledgeable forum members with offer an alternative.


    You bought the PC from [URL="http://www.pcspecialist.co.uk/"]PC Specialist[/URL] then i guess, as you called them ? if its still under warranty, and the guys at PC Specialist couldnt help you over the phone, it maybe worth ringing them up and asking to RMA it back to them to fix it. But this close to Christmas is the worst time, as you may not get it back untill the New Year depending on the problem.


    A Motherboard with SATA, can Handle either SATA II or III as they use the same connectors. Sometimes also marked 3.0gbs(sata II) 6.00gbs(sata III). Anyway, i wouldnt worry about SATA III for a regualr HDD as the benfits arent that great, unless your using a Solid state drive (SSD).


    Incase you need a new HDD [URL="http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=HD-082-SA"] This[/URL] will be fine if your looking for a new HDD
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 12-04-2010, 07:38 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    Yeah my ADD wont let me read that mess. I did skim thru a little and the "not less or equal to" message usually relates to driver issues IIRC.

    My first suspect will be the RAM. Remove one stick at a time and boot 'er up and see what happens. If she runs smooth on one stick but crashes with the other, well youve got your answer. If your RAM is trashed, itll screw up drivers which could explain the first error message.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 12-05-2010, 05:33 AM
    childofbhaal childofbhaal is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Brighton
    Posts: 128
    Default

    Sorry about the clump of details... I had just copied and pasted form the email I sent to PCSpecialist as my phone has died. Edited it a bit now...

    It's not under warrenty so can't ship it back and want to exhaust all possibilities myself... Thanks for the HDD option, that's the one I was looking at myself.

    UPDATE - I've managed to get into and stay in SAFE mode (run virus and malware scans... Nothing found) It'll stay stable without any BSOD untill I try to go into Device Manager, or if it lets me into the Device Manager it'll BSOD when I try to delete the Graphics drivers...

    I'll try the RAM tonight when back from work... The Graphics card is only 2 weeks old, you don't reckon it could be faulty? would it result in a BSOD or would it represent in another fashion... i.e. freezing or just black screening or no signalling?
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 12-05-2010, 01:56 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    It could since it looks more now like its driver related (which could still be the RAM though) so if its not the RAM or the drivers, then a faulty card is likely.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 12-05-2010, 02:51 PM
    childofbhaal childofbhaal is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: Brighton
    Posts: 128
    Default

    I hope it's not the card... it's only a few weeks old... would a faulty card give you bsod? thought the freeze, black screen and no signal were more likely for that
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump