Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 12-02-2010, 07:10 AM
    eldiaoble eldiaoble is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Posts: 1
    Default Old Mobo died. Need Help

    Hello I just joined because I need the expertise from everyone in the community.

    I use to run a EVGA 680i mobo and it has recently died on me. No one still carries this board and I was considering a 780i. I dont know what to buy now because my other parts are still working just fine can you guys please help me.

    CPU: Intel Q6600 Core 2 Quad LGA 775

    Memory: DDR2 Corsair 2-1 GB, and 2-2GB

    Graphics: XFX 8800 GT

    PSU: OCZ 600 W

    Im still running an old IDE HDD. So that is most important.

    Thank you so much in advance everyone who helps me out I really appreciate it.
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 12-02-2010, 08:49 AM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,603
    Default

    if you have the money to I would advise an upgrade to a i5/i7 (or one of the newer AMD's) as needing to change the motherboard is quite often a good time for an upgrade. but if you just want the PC back working you just need to get a new motherboard that can use your ram and CPU.

    one thing I would advise tho is upgrading to a sata hard drive, they do make quite a bit of difference and they are really cheap now.

    as for your graphics card, if you are happy with the way it is running your games you can probably get away with using that for a bit longer as the 8800 is basically the same card as the 9800.

    so the short of it is I would recommend a sata hard drive, and doing a CPU and RAM upgrade while getting the new mother board if you have the money.
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 12-02-2010, 10:12 AM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    If you just wanna put your working components into a new Motherboard, that should be possible. You just need a new Socket 775 Motherboard like [URL="http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MB-278-AS&tool=3"]This P5Q Deluxe[/URL] for example, which looking at the [URL="http://in.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=esOE5RDJVEmQI86w"]P5Q Deluxe Specs[/URL]. it actually has several SATA connectors and just 1x IDE connector.

    However, is your Optical CD/DVD ROM, IDE or SATA ?

    Although there is a way around this in the form of IDE to SATA converters explained [URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UtHJnMlDAY"]Here[/URL] and if needed you sould be able to pick one up for £10 or less from somewhere like Amazon.


    I should add that is still a good CPU, and with a better graphics card, if you need it, you should be fine if you dont want to do a rebuild.
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 12-02-2010, 10:47 AM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    Also, having looked around the net, as the Motherboard comes with one IDE connector, i have found out that the IDE cable may have 2 connectors on it, so you can use 1 for the HDD & 1 for the CD/ROM. All you have to do is make sure the HDD is set to master(so it says [URL="http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=151323"]Here[/URL]).
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 12-02-2010, 10:09 PM
    Tintin Tintin is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 351
    Default

    or just buy a SATA DVD-RW ... £14 isn't a lot
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump