Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 08:50 AM
    BillyB0y91 BillyB0y91 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2013
    Posts: 225
    Default Thinking of upgrading.

    Ok, my current rig is;
    GTX 670
    i5 3570k
    16Gb RAM
    600w Corsair PSU


    I want to upgrade my graphics card to something that will give me around 60fps on most new games (BF4 etc). Thinking of going for one of the 700 series cards. Would I also have to upgrade my PSU aswell?
    __________________
    Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.


    Steam: BillyB0y91
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 08:57 AM
    Masterflaw Masterflaw is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 1,203
    Default

    New PSU + 670 SLI
    What model Corsair and how old? Oh and MoBo?
    __________________
    CPU:AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.4(O.C.)||Cooler:Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU:Sapphire 7870 XT (Tahiti)+Sapphire 7950||Harddrive:500GB Hitachi 7200 RPM, 120 GB Plextor SSD
    Ram:2x4GB PNY @ 1600Mhz||PSU:OCZ 750w-ZT series||MoBo:Asus m5a97 le 2.0||O.S.:Windows 8.1 64
    Case:Thermaltake V3 Black Edition||Screen:40" LCD-RCA
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 09:03 AM
    BillyB0y91 BillyB0y91 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2013
    Posts: 225
    Default

    PSU is CX600, I bought it in about feb this year
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 09:29 AM
    marvluslf marvluslf is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Posts: 648
    Default

    I would personally hang on and wait to see what Maxwell offers. I don't think the 700 series cards offer that jump in performance to be honest (excluding the 780) and the 670 is still a great card that's more than capable. I have been tempted to go 670 sli myself but just can't be bothered shelling out for a new PSU.
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 09:29 AM
    BillyB0y91 BillyB0y91 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2013
    Posts: 225
    Default

    Can I have 2 different models of the same card? I have a Zotac one in now but can't find them in the UK. Would it work with an EVGA 670 and my current card for example?
    __________________
    Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.


    Steam: BillyB0y91
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 09:44 AM
    Masterflaw Masterflaw is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 1,203
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by BillyB0y91 View Post
    Can I have 2 different models of the same card? I have a Zotac one in now but can't find them in the UK. Would it work with an EVGA 670 and my current card for example?
    Yea...it'll work fine
    You may get away with it on your PSU but I'd look into something a little more solid with @ least 650w...600w of CX with 670 SLI is kinda sketchy. With an overclock, a few USB's and that 16 GB ram may put you over the top.
    __________________
    CPU:AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.4(O.C.)||Cooler:Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU:Sapphire 7870 XT (Tahiti)+Sapphire 7950||Harddrive:500GB Hitachi 7200 RPM, 120 GB Plextor SSD
    Ram:2x4GB PNY @ 1600Mhz||PSU:OCZ 750w-ZT series||MoBo:Asus m5a97 le 2.0||O.S.:Windows 8.1 64
    Case:Thermaltake V3 Black Edition||Screen:40" LCD-RCA
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 09:47 AM
    marvluslf marvluslf is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Posts: 648
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by BillyB0y91 View Post
    Can I have 2 different models of the same card? I have a Zotac one in now but can't find them in the UK. Would it work with an EVGA 670 and my current card for example?
    Yeah 2 different models cards will work but from what I believe both cards will run at the slower cards speed, not a biggie at all to be honest. What motherboard are you using? Two cards equals more heat, so I would make sure your able to keep temps reasonable. Im sure someone else on the forum with actual dual cards setups should be able to give you better info and yeah you will need a new PSU.
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 09:49 AM
    marvluslf marvluslf is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Posts: 648
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Masterflaw View Post
    Yea...it'll work fine
    You may get away with it on your PSU but I'd look into something a little more solid with @ least 650w...600w of CX with 670 SLI is kinda sketchy. With an overclock, a few USB's and that 16 GB ram may put you over the top.
    Must of posted at the same time but yeah I would go for a better PSU for more piece of mind.
    Reply With Quote
      #9   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 09:55 AM
    BillyB0y91 BillyB0y91 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2013
    Posts: 225
    Default

    Ok, thanks for the help!
    I might have just enough for a PSU after I buy the card. And I can always take 8Gb of RAM out and keep as a spare.
    __________________
    Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.


    Steam: BillyB0y91
    Reply With Quote
      #10   Report Post  
    Old 12-10-2013, 09:57 AM
    BillyB0y91 BillyB0y91 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2013
    Posts: 225
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by marvluslf View Post
    Yeah 2 different models cards will work but from what I believe both cards will run at the slower cards speed, not a biggie at all to be honest. What motherboard are you using? Two cards equals more heat, so I would make sure your able to keep temps reasonable. Im sure someone else on the forum with actual dual cards setups should be able to give you better info and yeah you will need a new PSU.
    Mobo is; ASUS P8Z77-V LX2

    And my case is fairly good at keeping the temp down (Zalman z11+)
    __________________
    Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.


    Steam: BillyB0y91
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump