Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 12-06-2013, 05:57 PM
    tombombadil1 tombombadil1 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Posts: 250
    Default PC Won't Boot From Windows Cd (Fresh Install)

    Hi guys,

    I've upgraded my MOBO and CPU and now trying to boot from Windows 7 CD in order for a fresh reinstall. I put the disk I. Restart the computer and it goes straight to boot from the HDD where it then BSODs. I have been into the MOBO settings and changed the boot order so CD/DVD is #1 but it still won't work. I get an option to boot from UEFI: Built in EFI She'll or my HDD. Really confused and frustrated all and any help is appreciated!

    Thanks!
    __________________
    Steam = DiddlyDonker

    Case - Thermaltake Chaser A31
    PSU - XFX 550W Core Edition Pro
    Motherboard - MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
    Processor - Intel Core i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Hard Drive - WD 500GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    Hard Drive 2 - Seagate 2TB Barracuda 7200rpm
    OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    Graphics - Radeon HD Sapphire 7870 OC GHz Edition
    RAM - Corsair 8GB (4X2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Vengeance

    Last edited by tombombadil1; 12-06-2013 at 08:42 PM.
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 12-06-2013, 06:13 PM
    tombombadil1 tombombadil1 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Posts: 250
    Default

    Might have found the problem:

    [url]http://www.ebuyer.com/259863-microsoft-windows-7-home-premium-w-sp1-licence-and-media-1-gfc-02050[/url]

    That's my copy of windows 7 ^^^ . Is it OEM and licensed to one computer? :/ .

    If so could doing a system repair (which windows prompts me to do) work?
    __________________
    Steam = DiddlyDonker

    Case - Thermaltake Chaser A31
    PSU - XFX 550W Core Edition Pro
    Motherboard - MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
    Processor - Intel Core i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Hard Drive - WD 500GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    Hard Drive 2 - Seagate 2TB Barracuda 7200rpm
    OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    Graphics - Radeon HD Sapphire 7870 OC GHz Edition
    RAM - Corsair 8GB (4X2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Vengeance
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 12-06-2013, 10:42 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    Yes thats an OEM copy which is tied to one computer however it should still boot and install just fine. It just wont activate once the install is complete.

    Is the disc scratched or anything?

    Also, try changing the AHCI mode in the BIOS.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 12-06-2013, 10:48 PM
    tombombadil1 tombombadil1 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Posts: 250
    Default

    AHCI mode?

    Sorry I'm not very good at this stuff.
    __________________
    Steam = DiddlyDonker

    Case - Thermaltake Chaser A31
    PSU - XFX 550W Core Edition Pro
    Motherboard - MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
    Processor - Intel Core i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Hard Drive - WD 500GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    Hard Drive 2 - Seagate 2TB Barracuda 7200rpm
    OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    Graphics - Radeon HD Sapphire 7870 OC GHz Edition
    RAM - Corsair 8GB (4X2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Vengeance
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 12-07-2013, 03:02 AM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    Go into your BIOS and look around. There should be a tab or option to switch between IDE and AHCI (Advanced Host Controler Interface). Basically, AHCI is the setting that tells the motherboard that youre gonna be using SATA cables for your hard drive. IDE means youll be using IDE cables. The default setting is usually IDE. Switch it to AHCI and try again.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 12-07-2013, 07:40 AM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,623
    Default

    if you have the CD drive set as your first boot drive while the PC is loading just keep tapping the spacebar or another key, as I had this problem when I got my i5 the press any key to boot from cd was only staying up less than a second before going on to try to boot from the hard drive.

    also as for the OEM copy install it, it will say the key is in use do a telephone activation, tell the people on the other end of the phone your motherboard and CPU failed so you replaced them, 99% of the time they will give you the activation code.
    __________________
    Are you sick of all the problems on this site? if so come to PCGC at pcgamesc.com we are in the process of making a gaming site for the community by the community.
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 12-07-2013, 12:33 PM
    tombombadil1 tombombadil1 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Posts: 250
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by MacLeod View Post
    Go into your BIOS and look around. There should be a tab or option to switch between IDE and AHCI (Advanced Host Controler Interface). Basically, AHCI is the setting that tells the motherboard that youre gonna be using SATA cables for your hard drive. IDE means youll be using IDE cables. The default setting is usually IDE. Switch it to AHCI and try again.
    Under 'Integrated Peripherals' in the BIOS menu I have found a list saying:

    SATA Configuration,

    SATA Mode - [AHCI Mode]
    SATA1 Hot Plug - [Disabled]
    SATA2 Hot Plug - [Disabled]
    SATA3 Hot Plug - [Disabled]
    SATA4 Hot Plug - [Disabled]
    SATA5 Hot Plug - [Disabled]
    SATA6 Hot Plug - [Disabled]

    So does this mean it was already set to AHCI mode and is still not working?
    __________________
    Steam = DiddlyDonker

    Case - Thermaltake Chaser A31
    PSU - XFX 550W Core Edition Pro
    Motherboard - MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
    Processor - Intel Core i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Hard Drive - WD 500GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    Hard Drive 2 - Seagate 2TB Barracuda 7200rpm
    OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    Graphics - Radeon HD Sapphire 7870 OC GHz Edition
    RAM - Corsair 8GB (4X2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Vengeance
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 12-07-2013, 12:36 PM
    tombombadil1 tombombadil1 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Posts: 250
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Belimawr View Post
    if you have the CD drive set as your first boot drive while the PC is loading just keep tapping the spacebar or another key, as I had this problem when I got my i5 the press any key to boot from cd was only staying up less than a second before going on to try to boot from the hard drive.

    also as for the OEM copy install it, it will say the key is in use do a telephone activation, tell the people on the other end of the phone your motherboard and CPU failed so you replaced them, 99% of the time they will give you the activation code.
    When I go into 'Fixed Boot Order Properties'

    Do I set Boot option #1 to - [CD/DVD] or - [UEFI CD/DVD] or - [USB CD/DVD]?
    __________________
    Steam = DiddlyDonker

    Case - Thermaltake Chaser A31
    PSU - XFX 550W Core Edition Pro
    Motherboard - MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
    Processor - Intel Core i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Hard Drive - WD 500GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    Hard Drive 2 - Seagate 2TB Barracuda 7200rpm
    OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    Graphics - Radeon HD Sapphire 7870 OC GHz Edition
    RAM - Corsair 8GB (4X2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Vengeance
    Reply With Quote
      #9   Report Post  
    Old 12-07-2013, 12:46 PM
    tombombadil1 tombombadil1 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Posts: 250
    Default

    Also looking in 'System Information' in the BIOS settings it says;

    SATA Port 1 - My HDD
    SATA Port 2 - Not Present

    ???
    __________________
    Steam = DiddlyDonker

    Case - Thermaltake Chaser A31
    PSU - XFX 550W Core Edition Pro
    Motherboard - MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
    Processor - Intel Core i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Hard Drive - WD 500GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    Hard Drive 2 - Seagate 2TB Barracuda 7200rpm
    OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    Graphics - Radeon HD Sapphire 7870 OC GHz Edition
    RAM - Corsair 8GB (4X2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Vengeance
    Reply With Quote
      #10   Report Post  
    Old 12-07-2013, 01:12 PM
    tombombadil1 tombombadil1 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Posts: 250
    Default

    Wow I feel stupid. Found out the problem. One of my SATA cables had come loose haha.

    Anyway now that's over and done with in order to fresh install windows do I format the HDD it's stored on or Delete?

    Thanks.
    __________________
    Steam = DiddlyDonker

    Case - Thermaltake Chaser A31
    PSU - XFX 550W Core Edition Pro
    Motherboard - MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
    Processor - Intel Core i5 4670k @ 3.4Ghz
    Hard Drive - WD 500GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    Hard Drive 2 - Seagate 2TB Barracuda 7200rpm
    OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    Graphics - Radeon HD Sapphire 7870 OC GHz Edition
    RAM - Corsair 8GB (4X2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Vengeance
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump