Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

#1   Report Post  
    Old 11-29-2013, 01:49 PM

Default install windows 7 to ssd, no key/cd

when i originally installed windows 7 onto my HDD i had paid a friend to use his disk and 2nd seat, although, when i installed windows it kept asking me to register and kept saying the key was already used... basically, the dude screwed me over. i got my money back and gave him the disk.

oddly, after 30 days it just stopped telling me i wasn't registered and i have been using the OS successfully for 3 years.

this leaves me in a tough spot though, since i just bought an SSD and would prefer doing a clean install. will this be impossible without the disk or key? will i have to do a transfer instead?

if it is possible to do a clean install, how do i go about it?

if i have to do a transfer, how is this performed?

thanks!

disclaimer: i know these questions have been asked many times, but i haven't come across any that share all of the issues i face.

also, i bought a seagate 600 series 240gb, its only $130 today (black friday) on newegg. get on that!
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 11-29-2013, 02:35 PM

you need the CD key, it's the only way, unless your drive with windows on now is the same size or smaller than the SSD then you could use software to clone what is on that driver to the SSD.
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 11-29-2013, 02:40 PM

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Belimawr View Post
    you need the CD key, it's the only way, unless your drive with windows on now is the same size or smaller than the SSD then you could use software to clone what is on that driver to the SSD.
    yeah i've been considering it, but its a TON of work, being that i have 2tb of files and only have a 240gb SSD lol. hence, why i'm seeing if there's a way to reinstall it, but as you say, it is impossible.