Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #11   Report Post  
    Old 10-29-2013, 01:59 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,567
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jrichards View Post
    Wow. I should have just bought the damned PS4. I feel stupid now.
    Well, it's not if the 770 wouldn't performm fine. You just won't get all of its power.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #12   Report Post  
    Old 10-29-2013, 02:01 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jrichards View Post
    Wow. I should have just bought the damned PS4. I feel stupid now.
    This will work as well, it's a little cheaper.

    [URL="http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/1UGkW"]http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/1UGkW[/URL]
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #13   Report Post  
    Old 10-31-2013, 12:54 PM
    jrichards jrichards is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 13
    Default

    Hey thanks! I think I'm actually going to do this. I've never built a rig before, I guess I'll need to do some research there as well.

    Got my GTX770 and installed it, hopefully arkham is done downloading when I get home. I was also wondering about the upgrade path in a few years, is SLI generally worth it over getting a new card? Much to learn.

    Thank you
    Reply With Quote
      #14   Report Post  
    Old 10-31-2013, 04:42 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jrichards View Post
    Hey thanks! I think I'm actually going to do this. I've never built a rig before, I guess I'll need to do some research there as well.

    Got my GTX770 and installed it, hopefully arkham is done downloading when I get home. I was also wondering about the upgrade path in a few years, is SLI generally worth it over getting a new card? Much to learn.

    Thank you
    Personally i just upgrade to the best single card i can afford after a few years when i find it struggling. You'd need to invest in a motherboard that can SLI (e.g Asrock Z87 Extreme3) & a more beefy PSU (700W-800W). It can be worth it if your playing at high resolutions 1440p+ or just HAVE to have 60 FPS in everything at 1080p. Be sure to ask someone or search online, those who run SLI, what the performance & upkeep is like.
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #15   Report Post  
    Old 11-01-2013, 07:16 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,567
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jrichards View Post
    Hey thanks! I think I'm actually going to do this. I've never built a rig before, I guess I'll need to do some research there as well.

    Got my GTX770 and installed it, hopefully arkham is done downloading when I get home. I was also wondering about the upgrade path in a few years, is SLI generally worth it over getting a new card? Much to learn.

    Thank you
    Depends on what card you are SLIng and price. Sometimes it is worth it though, especially if you are at >1080p.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #16   Report Post  
    Old 11-05-2013, 06:28 PM
    jrichards jrichards is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 13
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tr4656 View Post
    Depends on what card you are SLIng and price. Sometimes it is worth it though, especially if you are at >1080p.
    Dont plan to be over 1080p at this point. I'm going to start gathering these items over the holiday. Trying to find the best bang/buck cpu and mobo first.

    Thanks
    Reply With Quote
      #17   Report Post  
    Old 11-05-2013, 06:31 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,606
    Default

    SLi is only really worth it if you can pick up a second card dirt cheap, like I only did it as I found a second GTX470 for about £80.
    __________________
    Are you sick of all the problems on this site? if so come to PCGC at pcgamesc.com we are in the process of making a gaming site for the community by the community.
    Reply With Quote
      #18   Report Post  
    Old 11-15-2013, 03:15 PM
    jrichards jrichards is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 13
    Default

    Okay, I think I'm going to pull the trigger on this in the next few weeks. GTX 770 is working pretty good, Arkham origins, everything on max, I get a few frame rate drops when fighting 20+ enemies on screen. Would the ram + cpu + mobo help with that, or is the card just not good enough?
    Reply With Quote
      #19   Report Post  
    Old 11-15-2013, 06:27 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jrichards View Post
    Okay, I think I'm going to pull the trigger on this in the next few weeks. GTX 770 is working pretty good, Arkham origins, everything on max, I get a few frame rate drops when fighting 20+ enemies on screen. Would the ram + cpu + mobo help with that, or is the card just not good enough?
    If it's just at that moment, huge battles, it happens & you can live with it, then your current setup sounds fine. Try tweaking with the visual settings, see if it improves. And check out how other intensive games run, and if you feel it's not as good as you like, then upgrading should increase performance. But it can't do much against badly coded/ported games sadly.
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #20   Report Post  
    Old 11-18-2013, 02:42 AM
    jrichards jrichards is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 13
    Default

    I guess I'll put another game through its paces on high then make the decision. Its definitely not just the 20+ characters though, I'm seeing the drops here and there.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump