Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 01:01 PM
    weirdacidman weirdacidman is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 12
    Default Upgrading to GTX 780

    Hi everyone.

    My apologies if this is in the wrong place.

    Basically I am wanting to obtain a GTX 780 3GB.

    My current rig is:

    MOTHERBOARD: Z68AP-D3 Gigabyte
    CPU: Intel i7 2600k
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580
    MEMORY: 16GB 1600mz
    POWER: 750 watts
    HD: 2X WD cavier 1tb each and 1x 40gb intel ssd.


    My question is.

    Can I stick a GTX 780 into this set up? and if so will it work correctly?

    I have done some research and come to the conclusion it will work, but obviously my mobo only supports pci 2.0 so im asking how much it will affect this?

    And also whether the cpu I have would effect the performance of the 780.

    Thanks guys.



    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 02:26 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,566
    Default

    That should be fine.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 03:12 PM
    weirdacidman weirdacidman is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 12
    Default Thank you

    Hi,

    Thank you for your quick reply.

    That is brilliant news.

    However I have one more question.

    What difference would there be between running it on pci 2.0 and a pci 3.0?
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 03:46 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by weirdacidman View Post
    Hi,

    Thank you for your quick reply.

    That is brilliant news.

    However I have one more question.

    What difference would there be between running it on pci 2.0 and a pci 3.0?
    Very little, if you notice any in real world gaming i'd be surprised.
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 03:57 PM
    weirdacidman weirdacidman is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 12
    Default

    Ok this is all fantastic news.

    I have been trying to figure this out for ages.

    Should of come to a forum months ago.

    I am definitely going to buy one I think.

    Thanks again!
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 05:27 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    Yep, there is no perceivable difference between PCIE 2.0 and 3.0. Now if you were gonna run 3 780's then maybe you'd saturate the lanes enough that the 3.0 would start to make a difference. Even then I don't think it would be that big a difference.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 08:10 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,566
    Default

    Believe me, running 3 670s on Ivy Bridge is a bottleneck because they run at x4.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 09:19 PM
    PatchRowcester PatchRowcester is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Location: United States
    Posts: 1,020
    Send a message via AIM to PatchRowcester Send a message via MSN to PatchRowcester Send a message via Yahoo to PatchRowcester
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by weirdacidman View Post
    Ok this is all fantastic news.

    I have been trying to figure this out for ages.

    Should of come to a forum months ago.

    I am definitely going to buy one I think.

    Thanks again!
    Depending on your version of BIOS, you may need to upgrade it.

    I had a BIOS that was dated 3/9/2012, and I needed to upgrade it for the card to work properly. I would get all kinds of problems before, like code A6, 62, AE etc.

    So keep that in mind when installing the card.
    Reply With Quote
      #9   Report Post  
    Old 06-13-2013, 10:26 AM
    weirdacidman weirdacidman is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 12
    Default

    OK so i'm all good i guess.

    I'm going to buy a single 780 card.

    Only going to be used on a single monitor at 1920x1080p.

    I know i don't necessarily need it as such but i am obsessive and want all the eye candy etc for the latest games.

    So basically I have learnt from this conversation that the only thing I will need to look out for is the BIOS and that is it?

    Thank you so much for your help guys.
    Reply With Quote
      #10   Report Post  
    Old 06-13-2013, 02:43 PM
    PatchRowcester PatchRowcester is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Location: United States
    Posts: 1,020
    Send a message via AIM to PatchRowcester Send a message via MSN to PatchRowcester Send a message via Yahoo to PatchRowcester
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by weirdacidman View Post
    OK so i'm all good i guess.

    I'm going to buy a single 780 card.

    Only going to be used on a single monitor at 1920x1080p.

    I know i don't necessarily need it as such but i am obsessive and want all the eye candy etc for the latest games.

    So basically I have learnt from this conversation that the only thing I will need to look out for is the BIOS and that is it?

    Thank you so much for your help guys.
    Yes. Have a plan on how you are going to update the BIOS. Are you going to update it through windows? or are you going to use a utility supplied by the motherboard?

    I had trouble updating the BIOS through the utility on my motherboard. I've had to update it through Windows.

    So thats definitely one of the things you need to keep in mind, and a have a plan in case you run into compatibility issues.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump