Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Games

#1   Report Post  
    Old 01-13-2013, 12:52 PM

Post Emotional impact in gaming

Hello everyone, I'm new to the PCG community but I've been following the site for awhile. I am a big fan of the quality of the articles on this site, and hope it continues.
    Anyway I wanted to ask a simple question to the community:
    What is your favorite game that has impacted you in an emotional way?
    I have a pretty bad anxiety disorder, and as a side effect it's hard for me to really feel emotion properly. However, the occasional times when I do usually come from games; being able to choose your character's actions allows you to identify in a way that a movie or book will be hard pressed to deliver. I'm not a gamer for the sake of gameplay, but that doesn't mean I don't appreciate a good game. I'd like to clarify that while I don't mind cutscenes or an experience and story driven game, that doesn't necessarily mean I am a call of duty fanboy. In fact, I detest shallow experiences such as those. I'd like to mention a few of my favorite games which have affected me emotionally or sparked my barren imagination.

Biggest surprise: Far Cry 3
    To tell you the truth, I really didn't expect much from FC3. Maybe that's why it was so good; I was able to let my barriers down because I was expecting to be bored. Everyone loves to mock the opening scene where you hang with your dudebros, but to me that really sets the stage for the whole experience. The opening part lets you empathize slightly with a normal person having a normal vacation before everything gets turned upside down.