Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Games

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 07-31-2012, 06:01 PM
    waztrain waztrain is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Posts: 13
    Default Sniper elite v2 only getting avg 23 fps on amd 7950?

    Hi

    This is my first post so be gentle.lol

    I downloaded sniper ellite v2 today through steam. I decided to do a benchmark test as it gave me the option in the 'extras' section in the game.

    my set-up:
    intel i5 2.5k sandy bridge 3.4ghz
    8gb ram
    amd 7950

    These are my settings on the game:

    resolution - 1920 x 1080
    texture detail - ultra
    shadow deatil - ultra
    anit-aliasing - high
    draw distance - ultra
    anisotropic filtering - 16
    super sampling - 4.0x
    advance shadows - high
    motion blur - on
    ambient occlusion - on
    use compute shaders - on
    reduce mouse lag - on
    v-sync - on

    i only got an average of 23fps

    I thaught with my amd 7950 i would be able to max everything? are these in- game 'Benchmark' accurate? I didnt notice any game lag when i was playing.

    waz
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 08-01-2012, 07:27 AM
    REDMAFIA REDMAFIA is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: United States
    Posts: 124
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by waztrain View Post
    super sampling - 4.0x

    Turn this off.
    __________________
    i5 3570K - MSI GD65 Z77 - Galaxy 660ti GC 2gb - Corsair HX850w - Kingston HyperX Blu 8gb 1600 (4x2gb) - Phanteks PH-TC14PE R CPU Cooler with 3x 140mm fans - NZXT Switch 810 - Kingston HyperX 120gb SSD - Seagate Baracuda 500gb - WD Caviar Green 500gb - Steelseries Merc Stealth KB - Logitech G700 mouse - NZXT Sentry Mesh fan controller.
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 08-01-2012, 07:56 AM
    waztrain waztrain is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Posts: 13
    Default

    HI will try that and report back.

    I realy did think with a £300 card i would run it on max settings. Im considering overclocking my card to get some extra performance but iv not done it before so need to find someone to do it for me. The standard clock speed is 800mhz but you can easily get 1025mhz safely & without touching voltage tweaking
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 08-01-2012, 02:19 PM
    waztrain waztrain is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Posts: 13
    Default

    supersampling off i got an average of 59fps

    supersampling on 2.25(max is 4.00) i got an average of 34fps.

    Is the minimum fps important as average fps?
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 08-01-2012, 02:29 PM
    Izay Izay is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2011
    Location: Norway
    Posts: 191
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by waztrain View Post
    Is the minimum fps important as average fps?
    Minimum FPS is arguably more important than average. It depends on what the minimum is. If it's below 30 then it's way more important because it indicates that when you dip you dip to what I would call unplayable framerates. if it's above 30 then the average is what you should focus on.

    Bear in mind that it varies from engine to engine. Some engines have good motion blur to make up for sluggish framerates while in others it is a PAINFUL experience to go anywhere under 50.
    __________________
    CPU: 2500K@4.8 GHz
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i (Noctua NF-F12 Push/Pull)
    GPU: Zotac ref GTX 680
    RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
    Mobo: ASUS P67 Pro
    PSU: Corsair AX 750W
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 08-01-2012, 04:20 PM
    waztrain waztrain is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Posts: 13
    Default

    my minimum is 16fps (average is 59fps), i have played around with the settings and i can't seem to get my minimum fps higher then 20fps. I have tried it on low settings and even then im not getting above 20. It is only when i turn off 'Super Sampling' that my average fps shoots up.

    what is super sampling? i dont have any issues with playing BF3 on ultra setting with amd 7950. Could it be how the game is made?
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 08-01-2012, 04:34 PM
    lucky_shot lucky_shot is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: US
    Posts: 474
    Default

    [url]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supersampling[/url]

    Something to do with AA
    __________________


    STEAM
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump