Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 06-15-2013, 04:07 PM
    TacticalPete44 TacticalPete44 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 6
    Default New to PC Gaming, Build Troubleshoot.

    I built my first gaming computer this past week with the help of a friend. I am encountering some issues that he can't seem to fix, however.

    First, build specs: AMD A10 6800K 41.GHz quad core CPU, 2x 8GB DDR3 1866 Ballistix RAM, an ASRock FM2 A85X Extreme 6 motherboard, a Gigabyte HD 7970 3gig Gddr5 Windforce graphics card, a corsair 1050 Professional power supply, all in a NZXT Phantom 630 full tower and running windows 7 hope premium 64 bit.

    My monitor is a 27 inch Acer running at 1920 x 1080.

    I have tried to make sure every component has fully up-to-date drivers installed.

    The problem: Battlefield 3 (and bioshock infinite), if run on ultra, get HORRIBLE framerate.

    Last night I was actually playing Bioshock Infinite and running it on High and if there were any enemies, the games frame rate dropped considerably, making it impossible to aim or anything.

    Anyways, I'm not sure how to proceed... so any help will be much appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Pete

    Last edited by TacticalPete44; 06-15-2013 at 04:31 PM.
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 06-15-2013, 04:47 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    Thats a pretty weak CPU youve got paired with a $400 video card. It has no L3 cache and only a small L2 cache so its not really up to the job of feeding that 7970 which is a screaming fast video card. BF3 on Ultra is a pretty demanding game but Bioshock Infinite isnt really that bad. What kind of frames are you talking about in Bioshock? If youre dipping down into the teens, then something else is wrong. If youre getting into the low 30's then Im gonna say youre just CPU bottlenecked.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 06-15-2013, 06:10 PM
    TacticalPete44 TacticalPete44 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 6
    Default

    CPU bottlenecked, huh? That's a blower, after spending all that money. Is there a better AMD processor that runs out of an FM2 socket? I don't mind buying a better CPU, but replacing the motherboard as well will be troublesome, financially. At least right now.
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 06-15-2013, 06:13 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    Nope. The FM2 socket is not a high end platform. Its mostly meant for HTPC's or for people like my wife that just do Facebook, email and the occasional spreadsheet.

    You can overclock that A10 a good bit though and that could help out a little. Also, turn off the AA and fancy filtering like that as that is usually a pretty big CPU drag.

    And again, what kind of frame drop are we talking about here. Going from the 40's to the 30's is probably a CPU bottleneck. Going from 60's to 10's means something else is wrong.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 06-15-2013, 06:17 PM
    TacticalPete44 TacticalPete44 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 6
    Default

    Truthfully, I have no clue. I don't even know how to check frame rate. I'll work on that tonight after work, but until then, no clue.
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 06-15-2013, 06:19 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    [url]http://www.fraps.com/[/url]
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 06-15-2013, 06:23 PM
    TacticalPete44 TacticalPete44 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 6
    Default

    Ok. I'll look into it tonight. Thanks.
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 06-16-2013, 04:44 AM
    TacticalPete44 TacticalPete44 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 6
    Default

    Well, turns out some idiot (>.>) plugged the HDMI into the motherboard instead of the video card. Fraps has me running at a steady 80+ Frames Per Second now on full Ultra settings.

    Thanks for the help!
    Reply With Quote
      #9   Report Post  
    Old 06-16-2013, 03:21 PM
    MacLeod MacLeod is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts: 3,503
    Default

    LOL! So you were running off the IGPU instead of the 7970. I kinda thought it was something like that because while the A10 is not a high end CPU, it should still be good enough for Bioshock Infinite. Glad you got it sorted out.
    __________________
    • AMD FX 8350 @ 4.815 - 1.40V CnQ enabled
    • EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1070 (1239 boost)
    • Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev 1
    • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB
    • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB SSD
    • Western Digital Blue 1TB x2
    • EVGA Supernova G2 750
    • HP 2509B @ 1920x1080
    • Corsair Carbide 500R
    • Corsair H100
    • BlackWidow Ultimate & DeathAdder
    Reply With Quote
      #10   Report Post  
    Old 06-16-2013, 06:25 PM
    TacticalPete44 TacticalPete44 is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 6
    Default

    Yeah. On BF3 once I fixed my dumb mistake, Fraps had me running 80+ FPS pretty much the whole time (on ultra). BioShock infinite was running at 130+ FPS.

    Now I just need a dedicated sound card to rid myself of this stupid buzzing sound coming from the headphones...
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump