Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 03:36 AM
    headbutthead headbutthead is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Posts: 79
    Default Understanding internet speeds

    So I am trying to understand internet speeds and am having a heck of a time understanding it. Under my wireless network connection status it says my speed is 144.5 Mbps. So that is 144.5 megabits/second, correct? Meaning ~18 megabytes/second? So I should be downloading 0.017 GB/s which is ~1GB/minute. I am getting nowhere near that speed and I wouldn't expect to so where am I going wrong in my understanding? I appreciate any help I can get on this topic.
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 04:29 AM
    Masterflaw Masterflaw is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2013
    Posts: 1,203
    Default

    Depends on the servers(the one your downloading from) upload speed as well. If the server can't upload at 1 GB per minute than you won't download it at that rate either.
    __________________
    CPU:AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.4(O.C.)||Cooler:Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    GPU:Sapphire 7870 XT (Tahiti)+Sapphire 7950||Harddrive:500GB Hitachi 7200 RPM, 120 GB Plextor SSD
    Ram:2x4GB PNY @ 1600Mhz||PSU:OCZ 750w-ZT series||MoBo:Asus m5a97 le 2.0||O.S.:Windows 8.1 64
    Case:Thermaltake V3 Black Edition||Screen:40" LCD-RCA
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 06:40 AM
    AMacdonald AMacdonald is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 463
    Default

    And you may be connected locally to your wireless at 144Mbps but if your broadband is slower, that's the speed you'll be throttled to. Try a broadband speed check website like [URL="http://www.broadbandspeedchecker.co.uk/"]this[/URL] to find out your actual throughput.
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 01:21 PM
    headbutthead headbutthead is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Posts: 79
    Default

    Ok so i used that link and my speed was 0.62Mb/s. I am still having trouble understanding what these numbers mean. What exactly is the difference between bandwidth and download speed?
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 06-12-2013, 01:39 PM
    Alm Alm is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Redhill, UK
    Posts: 3,361
    Default

    Bandwidth and download speed are pretty much the same as far as I know.

    When you check your wireless status, that's how fast your router can link to your computer. If the broadband into your router is a lot slower, you'll get a lot slower internet even if the wireless speed is good.

    What internet package are you on?
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 06-13-2013, 04:26 AM
    headbutthead headbutthead is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Posts: 79
    Default

    I have a 3Mbps package from from AT&T. They call it their "Pro" package. I don't think any pro would use this, Ha!
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 06-13-2013, 05:20 AM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,566
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by headbutthead View Post
    I have a 3Mbps package from from AT&T. They call it their "Pro" package. I don't think any pro would use this, Ha!
    3 Mbps =/= the 144 in OP.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 06-13-2013, 06:36 AM
    AMacdonald AMacdonald is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 463
    Default

    It's not even the 0.6Mb he measured his speed at. Mind you, the connection could have been shared with some other traffic and these packages are always listed as "up to" such and such a speed. My Up-to 8MB service actually tops out at less that 1.5Mb. Still, I don't often find anyone with worse broadband than me. Allow me a brief moment of unjustified smugness.
    Reply With Quote
      #9   Report Post  
    Old 06-13-2013, 11:02 AM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,598
    Default

    home network speeds mean nothing to your internet speeds unless you manage to get some insane internet connection (my PC connects to the router at 1gigabit, does that affect my internet? no because my internet is only 80megabit)

    if you only have a 3megabit line you will never get more than that and there is a good chance you will get less as it will be a DSL line, but even then a 3meg line would only downlaod around 300 kilobytes a second (or roughly 1 megabyte every 4 seconds)

    if you want an accurate reading on your line speed go to [url]http://www.speedtest.net/[/url] they are the most acurate test around and they will actually test your internet connection and not your homenetwork.
    __________________
    Are you sick of all the problems on this site? if so come to PCGC at pcgamesc.com we are in the process of making a gaming site for the community by the community.
    Reply With Quote
      #10   Report Post  
    Old 06-13-2013, 11:35 AM
    AMacdonald AMacdonald is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 463
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Belimawr View Post
    only 80megabit
    ONLY?! That's my unjustified smugness ruined then.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump