Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Play with PC Gamer > World of Warcraft Guild (EU) > Raids and Events > Team Win

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 05-23-2013, 12:27 PM
    Akee Akee is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 793
    Default bad internet is bad, and you should feel bad

    Hey dudes and dudettes!
    Some of you will know i've been having bad connection issues recently - the last 3 raids I tried to join were impossible, and the same goes whenever i log in, no matter which realm I try.

    Even the in-game chat doesn't work, so trying to communicate to anyone in game is very difficult.

    I've contacted my ISP and giving them all the info they say they need, so am crossing my finers they can help me out.

    It's very frustrating as I know wer have a few new guildies/raid members join us and I would really want to welcome them in to help a smooth mergerr - I hope you will all make up for it by being extra nice and not saying mean things about hunters anad warlocks


    I have a half-term coming up this week, so am thinking of going away for a long weekend where I dont have WoW access at all, and thus not getting massively annoyed when I try and play.

    Am hoping Steel and Barks can help take charge over the next couple of raids, and i hope to be back playing with you all a week today

    Good luck tonight and monday, and see you all next week
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 05-23-2013, 10:24 PM
    Ayumis Ayumis is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 364
    Default

    I had something very similar and it was to do with virgin.

    I found a fix on their forums by changing the mtu from 1500 to 900.

    People said it wasn't the best solution but it worked and has been set like that for the last 2-3 years and nothing has caught on fire...

    Here's a site explaining about it and how to find your correct mtu:

    [url]http://www.richard-slater.co.uk/archives/2009/10/23/change-your-mtu-under-vista-windows-7-or-windows-8/[/url]

    I'd be tempted just to try 900 like I did as its easy enough to change back.

    Hope you get it sorted one way or another and be back online with us soon.
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 05-23-2013, 10:28 PM
    Ayumis Ayumis is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 364
    Default

    This was the virgin post I mentioned:

    [url]http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Computers-Gaming/WoW-High-Latency-quot-fix-quot-for-latest-patch/td-p/166231[/url]
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 05-24-2013, 07:37 AM
    Bimble Bimble is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Poole
    Posts: 1,680
    Default

    It could be a faulty micro filter they some times stop working; it's the dongle in the phone line that goes to the router. You should also have micro filters on any other extensions in the house even if it's just a phone.
    __________________
    Bimble (Armoury)
    World of Warcraft
    PCG Guild (Steamwheedle Cartel)


    Realm First! Zen Master Cook - 25th Sep 2012
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 05-24-2013, 08:03 AM
    Antonius Antonius is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Cark, Bai
    Posts: 890
    Default

    Changing the DNS from the standard ISP provided is also a good thing to do, it generally speeds up most internet related things. It doesn't speed up anything using a direct IP, but as WoW now uses FQDN's in the realm list and wtf folders, it may help.

    Try OpenDNS or Google's DNS.

    On the plus side, it also means less targeted ads from your ISP. Though Google's means ads elsewhere.

    If you need help changing your DNS, gimmie a shout.
    __________________
    Two Wrongs don't make a Right.
    But Three Lefts do...

    Dum spiro spero - While I breathe, I hope.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Bashiok
    And when you see them you'll be all like :O and we'll be all like and then people on the forums will still be all like(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻(Link)
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 05-24-2013, 11:08 AM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,598
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Bimble View Post
    It could be a faulty micro filter they some times stop working; it's the dongle in the phone line that goes to the router. You should also have micro filters on any other extensions in the house even if it's just a phone.
    depends if he is on DSL or cable, as cable (like infinity or other fibre based lines) has the internet basically come in as a separate line so you don't need microfilters.


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Antonius View Post
    On the plus side, it also means less targeted ads from your ISP. Though Google's means ads elsewhere.
    google actually do an addon for chrome that lets you opt out of google ads tracking as well as other tracking.
    __________________
    Are you sick of all the problems on this site? if so come to PCGC at pcgamesc.com we are in the process of making a gaming site for the community by the community.
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 05-24-2013, 10:29 PM
    Goffik Goffik is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 428
    Default

    [URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rksCTVFtjM4"]This[/URL]
    words words words
    Reply With Quote
      #8   Report Post  
    Old 05-25-2013, 07:27 AM
    Antonius Antonius is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Cark, Bai
    Posts: 890
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Belimawr View Post
    google actually do an addon for chrome that lets you opt out of google ads tracking as well as other tracking.
    Didn't know that. I don't use many add-ons, browser wise. The 8+ tabs I tend to open in a normal browsing session are enough of a resource hog as it is!
    __________________
    Two Wrongs don't make a Right.
    But Three Lefts do...

    Dum spiro spero - While I breathe, I hope.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Bashiok
    And when you see them you'll be all like :O and we'll be all like and then people on the forums will still be all like(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻(Link)
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump