Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #11   Report Post  
    Old 04-29-2012, 05:33 PM
    miseryguts miseryguts is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2010
    Location: Cumbria, UK
    Posts: 704
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by fatcobra View Post
    Maybe that was a poor choice of words on my part, didnt mean any offense.
    No that's fine no offence taken,
    I think on reflection I'm probably going to give it a month or two & see what the choices are cooler/price wise.
    Reply With Quote
      #12   Report Post  
    Old 04-30-2012, 09:17 AM
    HR4 HR4 is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2012
    Posts: 40
    Default

    If a HD7970 3gb can go in, my advice would be get one, good value with great performance...

    .
    __________________
    Arma2, gaming pc1:
    AMD Athlon II x4 640 Propus 3.4Ghz (oc)
    Gigabyte tech
    500gb HDD, Quad Core
    Sapphire HD5850 2GB Toxic Limited Edition (oc)
    .
    Arma3 ready, gaming pc2
    Overclocked Intel Six Core i7-3930K 4.6GHz (max)
    ASUS P9X79
    AMD Radeon HD7970 3GB
    120GB SSD, 2TB WD Caviar Black
    Both Windows 7 64 Bit
    Benq LED, Cyborg V7, Rat 5, Razer Naga Epic, Razer Nostromo, Cyborg V3, G-i110
    Reply With Quote
      #13   Report Post  
    Old 04-30-2012, 02:01 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,566
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by HR4 View Post
    If a HD7970 3gb can go in, my advice would be get one, good value with great performance...

    .
    Does great value to you mean to pay more for less performance?
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #14   Report Post  
    Old 04-30-2012, 02:08 PM
    DuddBudda DuddBudda is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2011
    Location: Europe
    Posts: 4,324
    Default

    you may proclaim yourself an expert Tr, but you're just a rash
    __________________

    Holy Cow - Warren Spector
    Life is too fucking short to hear or play Freebird - Isaac Brock
    I hope I see you later, where everybody's okay - Randy Brewer
    Reply With Quote
      #15   Report Post  
    Old 04-30-2012, 02:16 PM
    miseryguts miseryguts is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2010
    Location: Cumbria, UK
    Posts: 704
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by HR4 View Post
    If a HD7970 3gb can go in, my advice would be get one, good value with great performance...

    .
    Better than a 680.. how & why..? & by go in do you mean that size is an issue..?

    Thanks.
    Reply With Quote
      #16   Report Post  
    Old 05-01-2012, 02:34 AM
    M3RV M3RV is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Saskatchewan
    Posts: 5,199
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tr4656 View Post
    Does great value to you mean to pay more for less performance?
    Someone is behind the times...

    AMD announced a price drop for the HD 7900 series, where as the 7970 is now $50 cheaper than that of the GTX 680. Which now makes it an excellent contender as the HD 7970 and GTX 680 [URL="http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/508?vs=555"]are fairly close gaming performance wise[/URL].

    Both are ridiculously fast cards in the end.


    Also, AMD also lowered the price on their FM1 APU's, in case you didn't hear about that either.
    __________________
    Steam
    AMD Phenom II X4 965/ 212+/ CM 690 II/ 4GB GSkill Ram/ Asus M4A79XTD EVO/ HD 7850 (@ 1.2 GHz)/ 1.5 TB Barracuda / 3TB WD Green/ 2TB WD green/ 60 GB Corsair SSD/ Thermaltake 650 watt PSU

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by BetaWolf47 View Post
    I think the real reason we're a dying breed is because we have trouble breeding.
    Reply With Quote
      #17   Report Post  
    Old 05-01-2012, 06:05 PM
    HR4 HR4 is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2012
    Posts: 40
    Default

    There is some sense on here (M3RV), HD7970 in the UK can be found cheaper than 680 2gb’s and if this was not the case anyway I would still go for the 7970. I speak from personal experience only, I have seen the two run, both are excellent cards but I would be going with the HD7970 3gb as it is the better card tech wise imo, from seeing the two perform ‘for real’ friends pc’s and my own, and the data for the two cards..

    If you’re a NV fanboy I won’t change your minds if you’re a AMD/ATI fanboy the same applies, I am neither. I have owned and run many gpu cards and all have been very good, but as I have said I only speak from personal experience..

    Without doubt the two cards will perform superbly in any game, but the HD7970 3gb is both cheaper (at the mo), and better, well imo it is...

    .
    __________________
    Arma2, gaming pc1:
    AMD Athlon II x4 640 Propus 3.4Ghz (oc)
    Gigabyte tech
    500gb HDD, Quad Core
    Sapphire HD5850 2GB Toxic Limited Edition (oc)
    .
    Arma3 ready, gaming pc2
    Overclocked Intel Six Core i7-3930K 4.6GHz (max)
    ASUS P9X79
    AMD Radeon HD7970 3GB
    120GB SSD, 2TB WD Caviar Black
    Both Windows 7 64 Bit
    Benq LED, Cyborg V7, Rat 5, Razer Naga Epic, Razer Nostromo, Cyborg V3, G-i110

    Last edited by HR4; 05-01-2012 at 06:23 PM.
    Reply With Quote
      #18   Report Post  
    Old 05-01-2012, 06:23 PM
    fatcobra fatcobra is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: England
    Posts: 5,902
    Default

    AMD are gearing up the pricing war ready for the GTX 670 etc... no doubt.
    __________________
    i5-760 2.8Ghz/Asus P7P55D-E / Titan Fenrir EVO/Kingston 4GB
    2xWD C.Black 640GB (RAID 0)/Gainward GTX 670 Phantom/Corsair TX850w
    Sound Blaster Z /CM 310/W7 HP 64bit/Asus PB278Q 2560x1440p
    Zowie AM-GS/Filco Maj.2 (mx brown)/Senn.PC360/Corsair SP2500

    ---------------------------
    Self built PC problems Here
    Can i run game XYZ Here
    How do PSU's work Here
    Whats in your PC Here
    Keep your PC clean Here
    How to build a PC Here & Here
    Reply With Quote
      #19   Report Post  
    Old 05-01-2012, 06:34 PM
    miseryguts miseryguts is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2010
    Location: Cumbria, UK
    Posts: 704
    Default

    OK after listening to you guys & opinions on several other forums I've more or less settled on a 7970.

    I must admit to being a little concerned about the driver issues/support with ATI cards though (current card is a 5870) this is the main reason I was looking to switch.
    Are things any better with these generation of cards.? I play a lot of older games & have had untold performance/compatability issues previously with ATI cards/drivers.
    Also could people also suggest the best brand/model & place to buy 7970 for no more than £450

    Thanks.

    EDIT:

    When I decide on a card how do I go about finding out if it will fit in my case..?

    Last edited by miseryguts; 05-01-2012 at 06:37 PM.
    Reply With Quote
      #20   Report Post  
    Old 05-02-2012, 02:33 AM
    Logun Logun is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2011
    Location: Canada
    Posts: 433
    Default

    on the card's specs it should give you it's length so you can just measure the inside of your case.

    And if still in doubt email the company which made your case and ask them (or check their forums if they have them)
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump