Go Back   PC Gamer Forums > Tech

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Display Modes
      #1   Report Post  
    Old 06-14-2013, 06:23 PM
    Gh0st2013 Gh0st2013 is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 54
    Question Can I install another router?

    In one room of my house is the modem, connected to a phone line..for the record I use comcast.

    From that modem, I have a 50foot ethernet cable that I run to another room, which allows my ps3 and laptop to pick up internet.

    However, building a 1700$+ gaming computer, I think I want to go hardwire/ethernet.

    Near the room where my computer will be, is a phone jack and tv/cable wire. Both active.

    Can I put a modem/router in this room as well, to be able to hardwire my PC, or am I unable because with the same phone number, is already a modem/router in another room?
    Reply With Quote
      #2   Report Post  
    Old 06-14-2013, 06:43 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,567
    Default

    Just use a powerline.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #3   Report Post  
    Old 06-14-2013, 07:57 PM
    Gh0st2013 Gh0st2013 is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 54
    Default

    I hear a powerline will be too slow, as I intend on using very populated multiplayer games and graphics
    Reply With Quote
      #4   Report Post  
    Old 06-14-2013, 08:13 PM
    Tr4656 Tr4656 is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 6,567
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Gh0st2013 View Post
    I hear a powerline will be too slow, as I intend on using very populated multiplayer games and graphics
    Where did you hear that? Its not quite direct ethernet but its close. I use it personally and have been without problems on multiplayer games.
    __________________
    Probably sent from my Nexus 5
    Intel SB-E 3930k with EK-Supreme HF
    NZXT Switch 810 || 2x MSI Ref 670
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula || G.SKILL 32GB Ripjaws X || NZXT Hale90 1000w
    Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 2TB || 2x128GB Plextor M3
    2x 27" Yamakasi Catleap + Dell Ultrasharp
    Zowie AM || Too many keyboards. (Using reds atm) || ARTISAN VE White
    Steam Profile
    Reply With Quote
      #5   Report Post  
    Old 06-14-2013, 08:57 PM
    Gh0st2013 Gh0st2013 is offline
    Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2013
    Posts: 54
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tr4656 View Post
    Where did you hear that? Its not quite direct ethernet but its close. I use it personally and have been without problems on multiplayer games.
    I'll have to give it a shot then! Any you recommend?
    Reply With Quote
      #6   Report Post  
    Old 06-14-2013, 08:42 PM
    Belimawr Belimawr is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Posts: 14,603
    Default

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Gh0st2013 View Post
    I hear a powerline will be too slow, as I intend on using very populated multiplayer games and graphics
    they lied to you, I'm running gigabit over powerline (if you have a higher internet connection than that I would love to know what internet provider and home network you are using) just don't buy the cheap crappy slow ones and you will get just as good performance as you do from having an ethernet cable.
    __________________
    Are you sick of all the problems on this site? if so come to PCGC at pcgamesc.com we are in the process of making a gaming site for the community by the community.
    Reply With Quote
      #7   Report Post  
    Old 06-14-2013, 09:20 PM
    Bungo Bungo is offline
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Posts: 122
    Default

    You can use another modem/router on the other phone socket, but you can't have both on at once. Powerline is a better solution. Various computer magazine's do group tests, just google it and pick one covering your country.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Tags

    gaming, internet, modem, router

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump